So Grommets it is then ….

We did the Cortisone route and we waited it out.

Isabelle started speech therapy this week and is having two sessions a week until the first week of December.

This week I stopped in at speech therapy and asked if they would mind having a look at Isabelle’s ears to see if they looked a bit clearer and if the sticky stuff behind her ear drums have reduced.

I was feeling buoyant and a really quite optimistic.  Yep, I was feeling pretty chuffed with my old self.

Then the audiologist looked in her ears, and you know when someone’s professional very bland face changes.  They try to hide it, but you can see their eyebrow shoot up, their eyes widen and their pupils dilate for that split second.

Usually they compose themselves quickly, return to the “Be Calm … No Problem” here face, then she checked the other ear.  I could feel my optimism plunging in a nose dive to the hospital issued carpets.

She put a little thing on the probe and did a little echo thing to see how the eardrum was holding up.  I am sure she was preparing her face and her tone so as not to make a Mommy panic, but this Mommy can’t abide bullshit.

Me: “So, how bad is it then..”

Her: “Well, I am not really qualified to …”

Me: “Can you just tell me WHAT YOU SEE …. I realise you have not done a full audiology exam, but tell me what you see..”

Her: “Er, well ….. what did Dr P say?”

Me: “Dr P said she should get grommets and I should not pass GO or collect R200.  What do you see?’

Her: “Er, well …..”

Me: “What do YOU see? ….. honestly just tell me, what you see and how much it differs from the original chart?”

She went on to explain to me that Isabelle’s one ear drum was “extremely” inflamed, and the other one was not exactly looking great either.

The liquid behind her ears was still there.  Other than grommets there was no way to get it out.

The “echo test” (I am sure she used a more technical term) showed that her one ear drum had zero response to the echo, and the other ear was not loads better.  I insisted there was.  She calmly told me that there wasn’t.

Me: “Shit, I really was hoping that the medication would work … I know she needs grommets, I was sort of avoiding them as long as I can.”

Her: “If this was my child, I would get her grommets fitted tomorrow.  We fit children with this level of hearing loss with hearing aids.  If this level of hearing is permanent Isabelle will need a hearing aid.  You need to book with Dr P for grommets, so that you can check again in a week, two weeks and hope for an improvement.  Taking her for speech therapy now, is wasting valuable development time for Isabelle.  As she sits here she is technically almost deaf!”

I tried to look brave.  I try not to cry hysterically.  I tried not to wipe snot on the lapels of her white starched jacket.

I thanked her for her honesty.

I walked down to the first floor with Isabelle, and booked the first gap Dr P had.

Isabelle has a date with Medi-Clinic Panorama on Wednesday, 29 August 2012 and she gets her shiny pair of Bilateral Grommets.

I am trying to take a deep breath and not hug her too much!

{yes I realise it is only grommets, Connor has had three sets, but Isabelle is really my little monkey, and right now grommets seems like a major deal, but I will calm down …. eventually}

{feel free to steal the image for a Facebook Timeline Cover Image if you like …. steal away}

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Best of luck = yes, we have almost all been there but it does not make the stress less. Everything will be ok!

    Reply
  2. Sorry it’s come to this Celeste, I know were hoping to avoid the procedure. Quite scary the prognosis.
    All the best for Wednesday!

    Reply
  3. I’m sorry you and Isabelle are going through such stress. I hope the grommets do what they need to for Isabelle’s hearing. Please let us know how it goes on Wednesday. You and she are in my thoughts.

    Reply
  4. Normal to feel panicky. We did grommets, tonsils, etc in both minions. Oooh and those thingies called adenoids/ androids – somewhere in the nose holes? And both my kids had tonsils the size of golf balls – normally they should be sweet butter-bean sized nodules. I had to ride from the theatre back to the ward with my daughter on her trolley, pinning her down and sshhing her. All the able-bodied patients were standing in the doorways of the ward and skinnering, like they do in a small town. They spat and spewed, and screamed and groaned and ailed for a solid 2 weeks, during the school holidays. Thank God for medical aid – we were in the day hospitals at least once a year x2 for a good few years running. (You may even pick up some new parents and nurses to add to your Christmas card list…)
    At 11, Seun was still battling with ears – and funny little shreds of gauze that had to get stuffed in them, and meds, and droppers, and all that crap. Luckily, he only suffers from selective hearing now (but then, that is a male thing – so Isabella is safe from that.)
    And you know – the lady is quite right – the sooner you get round to seeing to the ‘issues’ the less of an issue they will be. And it is hard to hear these things sometimes – but it is in the small print of the doccie spelling out the terms of being a B+ parent. Gnash your teeth and pop the screw lid.

    Reply
  5. Ah dammit…that sucks! Good luck. I hope the grommits clear it up.

    Reply
  6. My littlest also had the whole ENT saga / palaver / trilogy! It’s not fun – but what I can tell you is having TITANIUM grommets inserted instead of the plastic ones was like a gazillion times better. THREE YEARS LATER they are still perfectly placed and doing their job brilliantly!

    Reply
  7. when my little chap had his tonsils out last year I almost had a thrombo(am sure it was a contributor to my anxiety attacks). Best thing we ever did. Different child health-wise since then…

    good luck. Your’e doing the right thing, even though it’s not easy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

