Get involved in the Santa Shoebox Project {2012}

The Santa Shoebox Project is an inspiring community initiative of the Kidz2Kidz Trust  that co-ordinates the donation, collection and distribution of personalized gifts at Christmas time to underprivileged children across South Africa.

Participating is a profoundly valuable and personal experience with each donor selecting the child he or she chooses to pledge a Santa Shoebox for by name, gender and age.

The website works like a charm, and is so easy to use.  You pick the area, the school, and it gives you suggested children who you can support – so you can tweak it and get the mix of ages and whether they are boys/girls you want to supply gifts to.

I did not do this last year – I was in the middle of my little break down, but I did it in 2010 and it was very rewarding.

Grab some shoeboxes, decorate them, the website gives you names/information/suggested contents for the packs.  You toddle along and drop them off and ta-da some needy kids get fabulous gifts.

What could be easier?  Few things.

Their aim this year is to give 100 000 children gifts.   The present pledge amount is close to 21 000 so they still have a way to go.

If you would like to make up a box, but maybe are struggling with logistics, or you are having surgery on the day, or something, feel free to sponsor a box through me – I figure R100.00 – R150.00 will make up a box – and I will make one up on your behalf and deliver it to the site.

Alternatively you want to donate straight to them, believe it or not sometimes pledged boxes do not arrive, and they have to make up boxes for the kids who will not be getting a box …. sad shit, but it appears this does happen.

So, see there are no excuses, get involved and give 100 000 kids a Santa Shoebox this year!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I volunteer with them each year and it really is the most amazing feeling to be helping with something like this. My 13yr old son helps as well, though he is not as keen as he used to be! The operation has really grown since I first helped out. I remember how the first year was where everything was done manually and it was organised chaos! I was really impressed with the organisation last year. And it is really interesting to see people’s interpretaions of a medium box as well as what to put in them. It is so important to make sure that you have everything on the list. It is totally amazing how many boxes they get with items missing! I am going to be at the Blouberg depot this year and I can’t wait.

    I also give 1 box per each of my children, the same age and sex of my kids. My daughter was special needs and died in 2006 so each year I give a gift to a disabled girl of the age she would have been. Bittersweet. My friend does the same for the twins she lost.

    Reply
  2. Hilary

     /  September 6, 2012

    Our office contributed last year and it was a great team building iniative, getting everybody together for snacks whilst also digging in with packing and wrapping the boxes.

    Reply
  3. great and worthy cause….

    Reply
  4. Kezia

     /  September 6, 2012

    Thank you for making us aware of the Santa Shoebox Project! What a wonderful initiative. I can’t wait to start filling my shoebox with lovely things!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

