Ideas for putting together a great SA Mommy Blogger 2013? Do you have any?

The incredibly talented Laura over at Harrassed Mom put together a Mommy Blog competition for this year.   I have no idea how Laura finds time, but she did, and bless her cotton socks she did.

I think Mommy Bloggers in South Africa are really lacking a great Mommy Blogger competition – a platform to bedazzle new readers and a way to be more of a community with other Mommy Bloggers.

You may feel that Mommy Blogger competitions are unnecessary – you may recoil at the term Mommy Bloggers – if you are happy with blogging as a blogger, then great.

Competitions do make good people better, and introduce the public to Mommy Bloggers they may have never heard of.  It creates an interest around what we do and what we say, and it would be great to have an evening celebrating what makes Mommy Bloggers great – and there are so many stupendously brilliant Mommy bloggers, who make us cry, laugh and sigh on a daily basis.

Personally I am not a great competition fan – probably because I am too afraid of losing.  I am not a gracious loser.  I am an embarrassed-oh-god-they-hate-me-what-did-I-do-wrong sort of loser.

That being said I really do like the idea of being part of a SA Mommy Blogger Competition.  Happy to organise, happy to pool idea, happy to harass potential sponsors.

It might be good to do something for a Children’s Charity and raise awareness/money at the same time.

Let’s promote South African Mommy Bloggers – primarily because Mommy Bloggers are an overlooked category in the SA Blogger Awards, and another platform does not appear like it is going to occur in the foreseeable future.

If we cannot find a place there, well then it is time to create our own.

Kidzworld is the only place that offers a competition, and though I am appreciative of them having a competition, there are really not great prizes or for that matter a Mommy Blogger Awards evening to speak of – so it needs a bigger buzz.

It also needs an evening of dressing up and drinking wine!

Laura and I are still brain storming ideas, but if you have any suggestions/idea about how to do it – what works, what you think sucks, what you think should be included please let me know.

Laura is in Johannesburg and I am in Cape Town, so I am hoping to fly up there for a weekend and we can hash out some of these ideas, or she can come down to Cape Town.  We know what we want, we just do not know how to get there, so if you have any idea or suggestions, please please let me know.

We have a domain and will be setting that up shortly and publishing the details so we can get some interest and build up, but we really would like to hear from other Mommy Bloggers {established ones and new ones}.

When do you think is a good time to run the competition – so that it does not clash with other things?

What is the ideal format?  I am a bit sceptical about the vote-for-me-please-gd-vote-for-me format.  I think some voting combined with a judge’s panel might be good – but what do you think?

Do you know any sponsors who would like to get involved, hell maybe you are a sponsor and would like to get on board.

If you are a Mommy Blogger – how do you think these awards should be run – what seems fair to you?

Any suggestions for Mommy Blogger categories?

Right now, nothing is set in stone.  I think Laura and I would really like to pool our resources and get this thing running.  I can barely organise toilet spray for my house, so if you feel you want to throw and idea/suggestion/anything other than a cow pat at us, please do – I would love to be a part of something that feels inclusive and gives Mommy Bloggers a stage and some recognition.

There are so many fantastic Mommy Bloggers out there – please please, send through ideas or suggestions – if you do not want to post it as a comment, please email me on celeste@happyhelpers.co.za.

We are still months away, but I think it might be good to get all the backstage things set up and have as many ideas from the Blogger Community as possible and design something that works and that Mommy Bloggers are proud to be a part of.

What thinks you?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Sounds like an fantastic idea. MonaLisa Mamas enjoy and support mommy bloggers. How can we get involved!?

    Reply
  2. taniaroux

     /  September 11, 2012

    You and Laura are amazing for getting this off the ground.
    If you are planning on having categories it could also be called the Parenting or Family Blogging Awards? That way no-one is excluded.
    Best time for awards? I would say October. Late enough in the year, but not too close to Xmas. Saying that, I’m not sure when the other awards are.

    Reply
  3. I think you and Laura totally rock for putting time aside out of your busy schedules to organise something like this.
    I like the idea of categories because there is not one blogger who is the same but we all have specific area’s we focus on.
    I also like the idea of having a panel decide the winner as I also find the Oh-Gd-please-vote-for-me cringe worthy!
    Good job girls!

    Reply
  4. definitely think there should be categories, not everyone blogs about the same things even though they may all be moms (also think daddy bloggers should be included, maybe a separate category??).

    Get people to nominate blogs in certain categories (can nominate as many as you want and people can even nominate themselves, then choose the top 5 nominations for each category to be voted as the best by the public.

    Then once you have the top 5 its one vote per email address (something like the e-commerce voting that has just taken place), makes it fair, you only vote once. Maybe per category as opposed to once overall??

    Im not sure about judging as a final step… who judges? Sponsors? Bloggers/non-bloggers? If they are bloggers can they enter the competition? If they are bloggers that are not mommy bloggers will they actually be interested in reading the blogs to see who is the best? Do they go back and read each finalists whole blogs or only a few posts?

    Just a few thoughts 🙂

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 11, 2012

      I am definitely in favour of categories – good to hear from other bloggers as to ideas, and then myself and Laura can hash it out.
      Definitely need to have a daddy blogger category.

      Reply
  5. Yes Di you ARE!!!! Our aim with the competition is to create categories so that everyone feels they CAN and SHOULD enter or be entered or whatever!!

    Mommy blogger – mom who blogs – SIMPLE – you dont have to blog about your kids 24/7 to be a mommy blogger!!

    Reply
  6. I am a mom and a blogger, but I don’t know where I fit in.
    I do blog about my kids but also about my past, and about animal welfare which is my passion.
    Am I a “mommy blogger”?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

