Screaming random names at the door ….

I remember my mom used to do this … “Shaun, Bruce, Celeste!!!!” when she actually just needed me for something.  She would do it in reverse when she needed Shaun, and often throw our dog’s name in the mix, Cindy.

I have realised I do the same thing.

The problem is I sometimes throw in the cat and the two dogs, anyone standing innocently by to mix it up a bit ….. “Connor, no, Georgia, no, Dexter, no, Priveledge, no, Annabelle, no, ANNABELLE, do dammit, Isabelle, ISABELLE come here… ISABELLE!”

By this point it has got so diluted that either no one comes or everyone comes.  The problem is that once your brain has turned into the mush that cannot get your off spring shouted out correctly, then it is pretty much a downhill slide.  You never regain the use of that part of your brain where the electrons are able to get the name right and out your mouth the first time.

You appear to have got the use of the electrons that can’t recall a tv show name without humming the jingle first, and the same electrons who spring in to action the moment anyone puts YMCA on any musical device.

I have no idea why I do this, or why my brain functions this way – it usually happens when I am trying to call my three to get in the car for school.

Yikes, I am becoming my mother.

Someone told me something really disturbing today.  The Barney Theme song and the tune to Yankee Doodle Went to Town is one and the same.  Well that totally destroys that song for me ….. you go and try and sing Yankee Doodle now without immediately creating a background song of Barney in your head.

I know, now you are stuck with that stupid jingle as well!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Carrie

     /  September 25, 2012

    Do you know that Twinkle Twinkle Little Star and the Alphabet song have the same tune too?

    Reply
  2. Claire

     /  September 24, 2012

    I do it as well, including the dogs and nicknames – really takes the seriousness out of my yell !

    Reply
  3. My mom used to do that too, but after awhile she’d just blend them all together. Michael, Eileen, Alice, Rip the dog and Richard the husband. They became Myleen, Malice, Rupert (don’t ask – I could never figure that out) and Ralice. I’m sure there were dozens more but the more she’d do it, the more pissed off she’d be so they would come out fast and furious and we would laugh our asses off!!! And yes, I do it too. I confuse my daughter’s name (yes, only one child and I still do it ) with my 2 dogs and 1 guinea pig!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

