First two weeks on Atkins ….

I have read a few books on the Atkins Nutritional Plan, and I liked the sound of it.

I really need something severe to step in right now.  I am in the downward spiral to a lard arse, and there is no way I am able to stop myself by the usual “eat less and healthier” means.

I have been unhappy with my weight for the last four years or so, and each year the kilograms seems to find friends that can join them, and I get more and more despondent every time I look in the mirror, and try to squeeze into my clothes.

The final straw was when I bought a swimming costume about four weeks ago, that would be something my granny would wear —– it really is time for a severe HELP plan.

I decided to get my arse off the couch eating a bag of LAYS and a bottle of wine, and start Atkins.  I have also started Walk-for-Life and really hope to be up to running, albeit very short distances come February.

I had read loads of reports that people tend to feel a bit ill in the beginning with Atkins.  I believe your body goes through a bit of an adjustment and this may leave you feeling a bit dizzy, icky and shite.  I haven’t really had any side effects that I have noticed.

The big “thing” is that you remove processed carbs and sugar from your diet.  Not gradually, but cold turkey immediately.

The first two weeks (Atkins Induction – Phase 1) have a very limited “range” of vegetables and salads you can take in, and this is where you are getting your carbohydrates from.  Protein is not an issue, and you are encouraged to eat as much bacon, beef, chicken and what ever-once-had-a-heart-beat as you please.

I have never been a bit protein fan, and can go days without meat, so this was a bit of an adjustment.

The amount of fresh vegetables and salad stuff you need to take in does have you at the fresh section of your local Pick ‘n Pay or Woolworths quite regularly.

I must confess that I have found switching to an Atkins Nutritional Plan has been quite expensive.  My house is stuffed with rice, pasta and tons of other food but everything is off-limits, so the result is that I have had to really sit down and figure out what I can eat.

I have pretty much had daily trips to the grocery store to hunt around for what I can eat.  I know that on the Atkins Nutritional Plan you do get to add more carbs as you move along, but it never gets to a point where it is okay to sit on the couch with a bottle of wine and a LARGE slice of meringue red velvet cake.  Yep, I don’t think that point ever comes.

I am definitely not starving on Atkins, you eat a fair amount of protein and fat, so the result is you never sit around wondering what else you jam into your pie hole.

I also do not eat meals because I am hungry, I tend to say “Okay, best make something as you should eat a meal now….”

Fortunately I am not a big snacky-snacky person, but that being said I have also realised how many handfuls of marshmallows/biscuits/chips and assorted other things I usually put in my mouth, whilst I am in the kitchen,and not even aware of it.  I have to consciously say NO to myself when ever I enter the kitchen that my hand does not “steal” something and shovel it in.

This is what I had for lunch today: 20g Rocket, 55g Snap Peas, 1/2 Haas Avocado, 70g Orange Pepper, 150g pork sausages and a few sprinkles of beetroot sprouts — so in no way am I hungry after this. (I burst the porkies about 2 minutes after I started cooking them …. so they aren’t all silky and shiny, but crikes porkies are brilliant)

I was really elated that in the first week I had lost 1.5 kilograms, but then I got on the scale earlier this week and it was all back.  Aaah fek!

 I decided that I needed a kitchen scale and to do it properly and not “estimate” portion sizes – hence the reason for the grammage control.  I just figure if I am going to do this properly I don’t want to be blowing it because I can’t judge the correct portions.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I am an expert at Atkins, so if you ever need help you know where to find me. Wait until you start on the Canderel chocolates to curb those cravings…

    I usually take 5HTP and HCA supplements as well. There’s a chapter on it in the book as well. Great for cravings and burning carbs.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 20, 2012

      Thank you, I so need help.
      I have been so miserable for the last two days, I feel deprived, I feel like I am depriving myself, so now I am really angry with myself!

      Reply
  2. You can go up and down 1 Kilos a day, just for having a day. You are heavier in the morning than you are in the evening, depending on how, uh, regular you are lol that also can make the difference in the scale. So make sure you are scaling at the same time of day or just do it weekly.

    I’m now really curious if there is something similar to a Walk-for-Life program in my area.

    Reply
  3. Well done on the run/walk for life !
    I shall look out for you thumping the streets !
    I always see people running around in our area in those 500 buck special tights and bolle sunnies and wish I was one of them.
    I joined weightwatchers four weeks ago to shift 5kgs and have managed to lose 3kgs.
    Any diet will work for me as long as there is a weekly police type weight in.
    If left to my own monitoring, alas I fail…….
    Denise X

    Reply
  4. This sounds quite difficult so good on you! I feel a teensy bit motivated now to quit drinking and smoking – I am hoping to turn corner tomorrow so wish me luck. I wish you luck so now you have to wish me luck too – ha!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 15, 2012

      Good luck — I prefer something a bit more restrictive (that I restrict) and hopefully understand. But damn I am dying for a large slice of red velvet cake with a HUGE glass of wine. I can’t have any alcohol in Phase 1 … so that is quite hard going.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

