Shit on your toothbrush ….{no, really}

Good morning!

The most unsettling fact I learnt this year, which I gladly share with you, was courtesy of The Doctor’s show on which ever DSTV channel was in the background as I looked up.

Every time you flush your toilet, the water that creates that dynamic wave action in the toilet bowl, creates a large whoosh of debris to shoot up in to the air.  A fine mist of what ever is/was in the bowl.

You would know this if you use one of those blue little bricks in the toilet, as each time you flush you get that nice clean smell. Mmmmm.  So in theory you already realise that there are particals being distributed into the air that was in the toilet bowl.

So, what ever was in the toilet bowl – shit, tampons, puke, pee – is also shot up into the air.  A bit lower on the happiness scale than the earlier clean smell you experienced possibly.

The more disturbing factor is that as this debris shoots up into the air, the little flecks of debris come down and settle on everything in the bathroom.  The old rule about “what goes up must come down.”

Once you start to look around your bathroom, you will soon discover that your pretty pink toothbrush kind of sits there usually on the sink edge – and gets bits of debris on it every time you flush.

Alarmed much?

On the show, they had guests bring in an item from their bathroom and they ran tests on each item regarding what bacteria was present. I really could not care less what sits on my soap bar or my shower cap, but anything sitting on my toothbrush is where I sat up a bit and paid attention.

It seems on this particular guest’s toothbrush there were faeces traces.  Excuse me as I throw up in my mouth and through my fingers held up to my face to staunch the flow.

Short story:  Every time you flush, assuming your bathroom is a bath/shower + toilet, you are flicking up bits of fecal matter into the air which settles on your toothbrush.  Granted small amounts you can’t see — but nevertheless they are still there.

Two things to learn here are:

1.  Close the lid when ever you flush – no exceptions.

2.  Place your toothbrush in a cupboard or in something that is covered, so should someone not put the lid down, at least only your shower cap will be dripping in fecal matter.

If you have any similar titbits of information to pass along to me, please do.  I think knowing to just put the seat down when you flush is VITAL, and I think should be part of the school curriculum system.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. At least I cover the lid when I flush; I need to just find a little toothbrush lid for those that might not be following Rule No:1.

    Reply
  2. Simone

     /  November 22, 2012

    I read about this years ago…I never ever flush with the seat up. TEaching my 4yr old this as well. Keep my toothbrush in my room:)

    Reply
  3. covering my toothbrush with immediate effect!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

