Game of Thrones …. slight obsession ….

I had a few Exclusive Books vouchers from my last birthday.  Kennith also found a voucher that was so old, it was almost worth more keeping and framing.

Even though I am charging my Kindle and wiping the dust off the screen and I have great ambitions to use it  – primarily so that Kennith does not get more upset about buying me digital things that I just never seem to use – I really still feel like I am cheating on my paper-and-ink books when I read a digital book.

Even with the guilt of “I must start using my Kindle more” I trotted off to Exclusive Books and bought some delicious books.

I do love bookstores – I could while away a day there quite happily.

I saw Series One and Series Two of Game of Thrones on DSTV, and was hooked — like dribbling at the mouth, dilated pupils hooked.

There was nothing I did not like …. well I did not like that it ended and sort of left me hanging with a 1/2 a glass of wine and an unfinished bag of Chuckles.

I usually do not read books if I have seen the on-screen version.  I like to be able to picture the character and his/her voice without having the “visual” forced on me by a tv series of a movie.

Game of Thrones has become the exception.

I bought Clash of Kings by George RR Martin (it is the second book in the series, and more or less runs at the same pace as Series 2 of Game of Thrones) –  holy mother mccreadie it is brilliant.

I don’t do books I have seen the series/movies of.

I don’t do books of the genre “fantasy”.

I broke both of those rules.  I opened the book, and it was a bit like the scene from Jumanji where the drums start in the background when they open the game.  Of course it was that do-do-do-doooooo sound track from the Game of Throne series, and I could hear their voices (the wildlings always speak in an irish accent in my head for some reason).

I loved the book.  Love might not be doing it justice.

I will confess that I might not have been able to follow the book without having seen the series on television – there are a lot of characters, they have long names and each chapter jumps to a different character/kingdom.

The books do not always move in chronological order, and sometimes run side by side to an earlier book. If you are not awake and all your brain cells functioning, these books can get a bit confusing.

The book order for George RR Martin’s Game of Thrones book order runs like this:

A Game of Thrones, Book 1

A Clash of Kings, Book 2

A Storm of Swords, Book 3 – Part 1 – Steel and Sow

A Storm of Swords, Book 3 – Part 2 – Blood and Gold

A Feast for Crows, Book 4

A Dance with Dragons – Part 1 – Dreams and Dust, Book 5 

A Dance with Dragons – Part 2 – After the Feast, Book 5

The Winds of Winter, Book 6 – Not released yet

A Dream of Spring, Book 7 – Not released yet

There are a shit load of character and no one is named Bill or Shawn.  They are all Cersei Baratheon, Queen of the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros, is the wife of King Robert Baratheon and after a while the names start to wash over you leaving you a bit dumb, and you stop worrying who individual people are, and get swept away in the story.

I tried to stick to remembering the key characters, and nodding in ignorance when I read anyone who was not the 10 or 20 I had committed to memory.

I picked up Clash of Kings which is pretty much Season 2 – it was brilliant.  I could barely contain myself and I scampered off  to purchase the next book in the series.

I keep thinking, well these books are thick lumbering fantasy epics – I am sure I will get bored …. it has not happened yet.

I am busy reading A Dance with Dragons – Part 1 – Dreams and Dust, Book 5 at the moment, and it is totally engrossing.

The thing that carries me through the last few weeks of hectic work, and the running around is that at the end of it all, once all is said and done, and I have a shower and brush my teeth, I have Game of Thrones waiting for me even if it is for 15 minutes or two hours – however long I can stay awake.

game-of-thrones

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. gayna

     /  March 17, 2015

    Very behind you all…..i am watching season 4 of game of thrones at the moment…..its like controlling an addiction, trying not to sit down and watch them all in one go. Haven’t read any of the books yet, as wanted to be sure of the correct order, which I now know thanks to you. Will be ordering the first in my local library or maybe just buy myself a copy, so I can reread at will. I actually prefer to do series/movie first, then book, as books can hold so much more than a screen content. I can also picture and hear the characters that have grown and ultimately survived through each season…..thankyou for your help

    Reply
  2. I don’t know whether to love or hate you right now. After reading your review, I quietly sneaked onto the net at work and searched for the kindle version…It took me a year but I have fallen in love with digital reading (cheap anyone?). I found it, all the first four books in one, and am busy with the first. Hooked, I am. Bear in mind that this is my first Kindle purchase and I have been haunting the free version section of books since I got the little magic reader.
    I was reluctant to buy in the first place because I saw the tv Series, but now amazon can thank you for their added income 😉

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  January 31, 2013

      I am so hooked on this book series! I have never read a book series that has held my attention this long.

      Reply
  3. i watched season 1 and 2, thanks for the info on the books.

    Reply
  4. Me too!! I just finished that one and am waiting rather impatiently for my friend to bring me the next one. She bought all the books and I am reading them as she finishes them. Love, love, love it! Can’t wait for the next season to finish filming and get onto our TV’s!!

    Reply
  5. Alexandra

     /  January 28, 2013

    I’m just finishing up the first book on my Kindle. Can’t wait to get the rest of the books…

    Reply
  6. Thank goodness you’ve been reading and not completely fell off the face off the earth, I had to google on Friday, cause it felt like forever since you blogged 🙂 Enjoy. Me too enjoyed the series and bought the books. My To Read list is longer than days in the rest of my life though so no idea when I will get to them.

    Reply
  7. I have the whole set of Game Of Thrones sitting in my Kobo Vox (sorry it’s the Canadian competition to your Kindle). they have been sitting there for some time too. I have just been reluctant to load them up as I had the same feelings, what is the point I watched every episode.
    I think I may just finish off the book I am reading now and give them a go.
    Happy reading!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

