New Year … over enthusiastic parent ….

Last year I felt I was permanently on the back foot with regards to the kids and keeping up with their school work and school commitments.

I realised both Connor and Georgia make for hopelessly poor postman.

I don’t get notes in time.  I never seem to know what is going on, and most of the time I miss the notice about an oral, homework or something they have to bring to school.

I will confess that I also did not go and search out the information.  I used the theory of “if the kids don’t give me the right stuff, then they are going to miss out, and then it is their fault and that is just the way it is…”

I made a realisation this year.  I need to be more involved with the kids.  The less involved I am, the less involved they will be at school.  The less involved they are at school, the more opportunities they will miss out on.  The more they miss out on, will mean the poorer their school career is going to be.

The habits we teach them now about going to school prepared and with the right material, is the habits they are going to have in high school when things are much harder and they need to be more prepared than they are now at primary school.

I felt I needed to step up in the parenting department and start taking a more active role.  I need to be a pushier parent, instead of the sloppy parent I have been up to now.

I really do not enjoy “socializing with other parents” or going to school things.

My social awkwardness escalates and I find it all very stressful, but I am acutely aware that Connor is in Grade 5 and before I blink he is going to be in Grade 7.  Then I am going to be trying to get him into High Schools, and then kicking myself for not motivating him earlier.

This year, I have attended parent/teacher meetings.  Made sure I ask the right questions, and if I don’t know then I send an email to the school for clarity. (I even attended one incorrect one, so found myself sitting in a meeting for parents of Grade 7 children … on the upside, I feel quite psyched for Grade 7 and know how to start preparing!)

The kids have schedules drawn up and have been signed up for groups that I usually miss, because they are full by the time I wake up and realise I need to sign up for them.

The kids are enrolled into sports and cultural activities.  I have the name of the teacher who organises the eisteddfod, and I am on that to prepare the kids.

If something is sent home, I action it that evening, and do not leave it over until the next day.

I have jotted all the things I need to do, and what the kids need to attend for the next term.

By being a bit more involved, I do not feel so panicky and out of control, like I felt for a large portion of last year.

We have decided to have two evenings a week as no television nights – the kids can do homework, extra reading, or something else that does not require a computer screen, DS screen or a television screen.

Part of the reason I wanted to be able to “work for myself” was so that I am more available for the kids at school this year.

I do not necessarily want to have them at home with me in the afternoon.  But I do want to ensure that if there is a thing I need to go to, or a practice I want to watch, or match they need to be taxi’d to, that I am available and can attend.

On my list of things to do this week, is to look at open days for High School!!

How the hell does this come around so quickly?  I am still amazed some days that Connor no longer needs me to breastfeed him, and wipe his bum …. I know it is a cliché, but seriously it is like a blink of an eye and then they stand before you asking to borrow the car keys, and you wonder where it all went!!

backinschool

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Tania

     /  January 31, 2013

    Good Luck & Welcome to the Club.

    Reply
  2. Oh.. that moment when you realized you need to be more involved in your kids school – same moment I had. Working on it this year.. Let’s see how it goes. – So far so good. And next year, I’ll have two Primary School girls to attend to.. I’m so gonna enjoy this moment as much as possible! *lol* – Love your posts and Cheers from Singapore! 😉

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  January 31, 2013

      I am so tired of falling behind, this year I have a pre-schooler, a Grade 2 child and a Grade 5 child. The days of being able to ship your child off to school with 50 cents in their hand, and think they can sort it all out for themselves is unfortunately way behind. Even to get into extra-murals requires early application, a shortlist and being selected. Kids whose parents do not “do the applying and stay on top of it” just get left behind.

      Reply
  3. I’ve had a couple of things slip past me, too. I see how much I still need to keep on top of the school stuff.

    Reply
  4. julz

     /  January 30, 2013

    Well done! Thanks for making me realise how quickly time goes by. I need to be a pushier parent too.

    Reply
  5. Hilary

     /  January 30, 2013

    I hear you. Can’t believe this is my son’s last year before Primary School! Good grief where did my baby go? Have to say I love, love, love that pic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

