The one about the cricket coach ….

I fetch Connor yesterday from school and he is looking really flushed and just bleak.

I assume it is because it is about 36 degrees and he has been playing sport.  But there is something about him that just looks off.

I let the girls walk on to the car, and walk next to Connor and ask him how the game went.

He played a cricket match today – Connor does not actually play cricket, but his tennis had been cancelled last week, so he went along to cricket practice and they asked him if he would play in a cricket match today.

I think Connor is already over stretched with his sport commitments and cultural commitments, but he wanted to play, and I agreed as long as it did not encroach on his existing commitments.

He says his team lost, and appeared to lose by quite a large margin — I don’t play cricket, I am not sure if it is 2 – 0 or 67 – love or what ever.

The point is they lost, and it was by quite a large margin.

I am still not following why Connor is SO DRASTICALLY upset.  Connor plays tennis and does not win each game, and he is always a good sport about it -very much in the mould of  “I will practice harder and play that boy again and then try and win….”

We are walking and he is upset to the extent that he is crying and cannot get the words out.  I stand with him and wait until he can form words that I can understand.  Eventually it comes out that the cricket coach screamed and swore at him (I am not sure if he swore and screamed at the entire team, so I am not talking on behalf of them just the interaction with my son).

Though I swear like a drunk trooper, Connor’s language usage is as clean as the day is long.  He doesn’t swear.  So he is trying to tell me what the coach said without swearing and in resorting to drawing the words in the air with his imaginary pen finger.

I eventually get to the essence and that the coach swore at him and said “fuck” in what ever context it is used in school boy cricket.  At the end of the game Connor asked the coach for the score and got the response: “blah-blah-blah …. you are shit!”

Connor is devastated.  I am livered.  I am so angry I could actually make a sign, or post a Facebook status update!!

It was too late to phone the school, so I spent the remainder of the evening stewing about it.  I found the headmaster’s email and sent a note to him. But this morning when I opened my bleary eyes, I re-thunk that plan and phoned to set up a meeting with the headmaster.

Listen, I have no idea how exciting cricket games can get, but an adult swearing at my son and telling him he is “shit” well that is maybe a bit more excited than I need an adult to be who works with kids.

We have a 10h30 appointment with the headmaster.

130214_cricket-banner

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Tania

     /  March 4, 2013

    Yes, please tell us, what was the outcome of the appointment?

    Reply
  2. So what happened? I hope it was followed up and not just brushed aside by the headmaster…

    Reply
  3. You will see my teeth come out if this was my boy!

    Reply
  4. Christiane Allen Pitts

     /  February 14, 2013

    Sadly, the first thing that came to mind was “What a douche that coach is!” Please let us know how this all turns out!

    Reply
  5. Oh my goodness!!! I would be so upset about this! What was the couch thinking?!?! I don’t care how bad they lost he’s an adult, and should know better! Your poor son. Being spoken to like that, especially infront of team mates is humiliating. I’m glad you made and appointment this morning. I hope the coach will apologize to your son. That is so disrespectful! Good for you for taking these steps. I’d love to know how things go.

    Reply
  6. I hope you got it sorted… so sad when teachers don’t take their responsibility to help build the youth seriously.. 😦

    Reply
  7. Jenny

     /  February 14, 2013

    OMG let us know how that went. Bastard. what a bastard.

    Reply
  8. Alexandra

     /  February 14, 2013

    I agree that is totally unacceptable. Sounds like the coach is letting his personal feelings get in the way of his coaching in which case he shouldn’t be coaching at least not at school level.

    Hope you have a good meeting with the headmaster. Please keep us updated.

    Reply
  9. Katrina OKane

     /  February 14, 2013

    Make sure you keep us updated. Hope he doesn’t get away with it! Poor Connor .

    Date: Thu, 14 Feb 2013 07:32:54 +0000 To: katrinaandpaulokane@live.com

    Reply
  10. julz

     /  February 14, 2013

    Ludicrous! I am so glad you are taking it further. One episode like that can scar a child for a lifetime.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

