The one about lucky number 95!

Connor and Georgia went to the same pre-primary.

I have sung the school’s praises and it is one of those places, that when your child is there, you feel a little bit above the other parents who are not lucky enough to have their kids attend the phenomenal preschool your kids are now at!!

Connor was there.  I was lucky that he got in, as this acted as a feeder for the primary school he is in.  We are way way out of the catchment area, so I would doubt we would have got in had we applied directly to the primary school.  But at that time the pre-school was a feeder to the primary school, so Connor got in to the primary school.

As Georgia arrived and had a sibling, she was pretty much guaranteed the same journey, so it was all pretty easy going.

Isabelle is at a nursery school which I adore.  You could actually eat pasta off the toilet seat (to steal my friend’s Joyce’s saying) it is so clean.  The Tot Spot is run by Linda Esteves, who has her eye on everything and everyone, and it runs like a well oiled machine.

Best nursery school I have ever been in to (and I have been in to easily 50 at this point in my rather weathered and jaded “find schools for my kids” age bracket).  Teachers are lovely, classes are great, there is nothing not to love.

There I was all in love with my kid’s school.

All in love with at the end of this year.  Isabelle will be going to the preschool that I love.   The other two are in grades in primary school, and there is no school changes for at least two more years.

Really there is so much love around right now, that I could shit a heart banner with string that joins them together.  Complete.

Even when I am guaranteed a spot in a school, I do not sit on my laurels.  Nope not me.  I filled in the application form and get it off in good time.

I got Isabelle’s form off in January 2013 for January 2014.

Good time considering her siblings went there, and that must give her some sort of  “automatic right of passage…” and well clearly just an administration detail we need to do, but clearly not applicable to the likes of me.

I was feeling lots of love until I got this response: “I confirm receipt of Isabelle’s application form.  I would just like to mention that I can only accept the first 54 learners.  My waiting list starts from nr 55 and Isabelle is nr 95……….”

er ……..I can’t say I am feeling the love right now as much as the panic.  Clearly I need to find another school, unless number 95 just got awfully lucky.

Jason Crisp I really thought this crap was over with.  But it seems not!  Fun I am not having it, and off I go to find a school for next year or I am going to be home schooling, and I am sure we can all guess how well that will end.

{I hope you have applied to what ever school you are hoping to get your Junior or Juniorette into}

130220_Not-feeling-the-love

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Tania

     /  March 4, 2013

    I hear Moms here in Jhb, East Rand, chatting amongst each other that they already booked a spot for their little ones while they were still pregnant!!! Pre & Primary!!! Ouch!!! I’ve never had a problem getting Ethan into a private school I have applied at, Emily is lucky, she gets preference due to her brother being ahead of her. Where Ethan and Emily are now, they will stay up to Grade 12, unless we move away. Good Luck, it all sounds very frustrating.

    Reply
  2. alittlelessfluff

     /  February 21, 2013

    The twins are currently in an educare/playschool. Its great and theyre flourishing.
    This whole Grade R etc. stuff just frustrates me. Then its the time of year your kid is born in and then its about the area you live in. Oh dear, its just too much.

    Reply
  3. Ai, ai. We do have preference for yo9unger siblings in our school so I got both the boys in last year,. But I really would think she should have preference?

    Reply
  4. Wen

     /  February 21, 2013

    I am also currently in the dilemma of getting my kids to school. To those experienced ones, is Kenridge or Welgemoed pre-school and primary school preferable? In feeder area for Welgemoed but not Kenridge. Just moved to Northern Suburbs so do not know schools that well. Thanks in advance.

    Reply
  5. I didn’t realize pre-k’s had a waiting list. My daughter (about to turn 2) is at home with my family while I work. Not complaining. But hubby and I want to enroll her in a learning center of some sort by age 3.
    Turns out most of these places have waiting lists that go back like 2 years. So for her to start at age 3, I would’ve had to enroll her at age 1 (or prior) and be the lucky 50 or so they accepted…to start two years in the future. Oh and to pre-register we would need to give a deposit of about the first year tuition – say a few thousand dollars. I’m still shocked! I haven’t picked a dang learning center because the few places we visited were pre-booked, since 2011. I’m on waiting lists but priority goes to those that pre-paid to be on the waiting list. One place had a no refund policy but you could leave it in credit for future years. Yea, ok.
    Of course we want one of the best places for her but with the high demand for the good places and that I was slow to get her registered (last year I wasn’t even thinking about these places) I’m SOL.

    Reply
  6. nicky

     /  February 20, 2013

    Tell me, do you know anything about Welgemoed pre-school and primary school?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  February 20, 2013

      I know everything about Welgemoed pre-school and primary school ………. barring anyone who will enrol me because I have large blue doe coloured eyes, but I know the tuck shop lady on an intimate basis if that counnts!!!!

      Reply
      • Nicky

         /  February 21, 2013

        Please do tell – I just recently moved to Welgemoed, and will be enrolling my son for next year, Grade 1. At the moment he’s at his daycare for Grade R, but we’re on the waiting list at pre-school….I’ve had some scary things, and I want to get as much information as I possibly can.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

