Party Planning step one ….. decide on a party theme …..

I know that “rite of passage” to mommy-hood is being able to pinterest the crap out of your child’s upcoming/planned/anticipated birthday party.

I think I have commented before that I am a bit less excited about my own children’s birthday parties, because they overwhelm me so much.

I get stressed right at the planning stage.  By the time we move to the RSVP’s and the parents who do not respond by the indicated date, I am about ready to throw back 10 Zolofts and wonder about the sanity of it all!!

Birthday parties are not happy occasions for me.  They are stressful and I usually just want to count 1-Mississippi, 2-Mississippi, 3-Mississipp until it is all over.

I have no idea how moms who throw parties manage to look so composed and that they are enjoying it all.  Eleven years in, and countless parties, and I still find a pap smear more enjoyable.

Connor has his birthday in December, so he is almost guaranteed hot and sunny weather.  Except on the dates where we plan an outdoor party that is weather dependent  then sure as nuts are sweaty, it will rain or be windy, as it has for the last three years – except the movie party, because on that day it was sunny and 36 degrees.

I have passed the torch of  “Connor’s birthday parties” to Kennith and he has been organising these for the last three years.  Though granted he forgot to get a cake last year, but let’s not hold that against him.

June is the birthday month for the girls. Sadly Isabelle has never actually had a birthday party – she is overshadowed totally by her sister every year without fail.  This year will be no exception.

I was planning on using an indoor venue for Georgia’s party this year, but she is turning 8, and she is at that age where indoor venues are a bit young for her.

I then thought I would look at a Pamper Party for her, but nothing I have seen fills me with much hope.  To be honest two of the potential party places never got back to me, so I am not exactly filled with hope and exaltation when we can barely get out of the starting gates.

Third plan was to have her birthday party at the Aquarium, and do a mermaid party.  But if you have 15 kids, it might just be cheaper to buy a live shark and put him in your pool and then the kids can throw fish at him.

Right now we are back at the idea of having a home party.

Georgia is at the age where the kids are drop off and go.   It is great on so many levels.  I do not have to cater for the parents, and  to this also means a reduction in awkward small talk. Right now I just need to prepare to say “hi there, lovely, wonderful, see you at about 16h00 okay?”

The rest of the time at least the only social awkwardness is me and a room full of eight year olds.  But if it is a late afternoon party, then at least I can drink wine, and that sometimes helps.

I had to first explain to Georgia that we were no longer doing the mermaid party.  I had hyped it up a bit to sell her on the idea. That was a bit of a challenge and an exercise in disappointing a seven-year old, but now she seems to be on board with my new idea.  More or less.

My new party plan (for this week, check in at the end of March for a revised new plan) is that we will throw a “Born to be an Artist” party.

Kids will do canvases and painting and stuff ….. I have no idea yet, but that is the rough overall picture at the moment, and that is pretty much all I have got.

I am thinking of painting a portion of the floor in the garage with chalk paint and the kids can draw on it.  I am thinking we can “frame” one wall in the garage and the kids can paint that too.  The options are endless, as long as it stays in the garage!

I am off to pinterest as soon as I finish this post.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Love Katrina’s idea! Good luck with the planning! I am also not big into parties, so I totally understand your feelings about it! 😉

    Reply
  2. Alexandra

     /  February 28, 2013

    I will have to bear this in mind – I’m sure my daughter would love a crafty type party. Fortunately she’s only turning six in May and this year it’s a Barbie party (and a pirate party for the four year old in August). I’ve bought most of the decor stuff already.

    Reply
  3. Karen

     /  February 27, 2013

    Hi Chicken, I think a place at Willowbridge do these painting parties for kids – next to Woollies. Might be an option? We can do cocktails close by at Colcacchios.

    Reply
    • Alexandra

       /  February 28, 2013

      Near where I work (in Joburg), there is a Colcacchios next to an art jamming place which is above a Woolworths. Maybe there’s something special about this combination.

      Reply
  4. Katrina

     /  February 27, 2013

    I don’t do the pintrest thing but here are some additional ideas for your painting party which I have done for my girls. We got some cheap pots and let the kids paint them and then put a little plant in them so they could take home a plant rather than a bag of sugar lollies. I also got some plaster from the hardware store (cheaper than the craft stores in Australia) and used small cake moulds in the shape of fairies to create my own plaster casts that the kids could paint and put in their garden. We then handed the kids cupcakes and let them decorate them themselves with different types of lollies. A full art party and years later parents still say “You are that mum that had the craft party”. I am a bit anti-social with school mum’s so crafty mum is a better reference than I often give myself! Good luck with the planning =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

