Rhymes with mice ….

I recall seeing a Facebook post about a week ago referring to lice.

Of course I scratched my head, pretty much like you are doing right now.  I took a deep sigh and cast my eyes up towards the ceiling downward lights and said a few words of prayer that went along the lines of  “please please skip our family this year!”

And then I promptly forgot about it.

I noticed Georgia scratch her head on Monday.  I felt unsettled.

I noticed on Wednesday that Georgia was scratching her head the entire time she spoke to me.  I got in to my car and drove to the 24 hour chemist.  No point in waiting another day for the inevitable.

I felt like those slightly insane people who take their arm, and wipe the entire contents of the shelf into their shopping carts with that rather crazed look on their faces.

It was very much like that.  I bought two combs, a magnifying glass and a few hundred rands worth of varying lice treatment.

I figured I would hedge my bets and grab everything from the holistic stuff with happy lice on it, to the more deadly looking stuff with cross bones and a skull as packaging, with warnings of anal leakage and not operating heavy farm equipment.

I still had a fair amount of the tea tree lice treatment from last year, but recalled that Contra-Lice had worked like a bomb.  I figured lice might build up an immunity, and if I hit them with everything right out the gate.

I immediately started to wonder which kid gave my kid lice!

Wednesday night had me treating all the kids – they had their hair washed with the equivalent of battery acid.  Then I sat with a bottle of “lavender oil” and Lice Treatment and combed their hair PAINSTAKINGLY with a nit comb.  Each hair gets to move individually through a lice comb, and if you have seen the amount of hair my brood has, you will appreciate this is no easy feat.

I sat them in the lounge, put white paper on the floor so I could see the f*ckers.  Of course you hope there will be no lice, you really do.

Unfortunately this is one of those situations where you get MORE than you deserve, truly.

Georgia had a few – Isabelle has a lot – and Connor had none.

I repeated the entire treatment last night, and look forward to doing it tonight again.

And for the next two or three weeks, we get to play Kill Your Lice! Again and again!  Ah, the joy of school going children.

Unfortunately I need to admit that it might be MY kids who just gave the entire school lice.  I can hear the birthday party invitations being torn up as we speak.

{I guarantee that by the end of this post, you would have scratched your hair at least twice, if not more, especially around your back neck area …….}

head-lice-looks-like

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. love, kids and other things

     /  March 12, 2013

    Tea Tree Oil is awesome and I have also nuked my Tribe with Contralice when the little shits decided to visit. What do you do with the Lavender Oil?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 13, 2013

      I saw the Lavender Oil on the shelf with the other lice treatment products. I use the contra-lice and I alternate with the lavender oil. I hand comb it through the hair, then use a lice/nit comb and comb through – I am not sure what it does, I assume it helps to get the hair less knotty through the comb, and then leaves an oily residue which I hope makes it more difficult for the lice to cling to the hair shaft.

      I leave it on for a few hours, keep combing it through – and usually leave the oil in overnight and wash it all out in the morning. Contra-lice however is my number one product!

      Reply
      • Awesome, I will get some Lavender Oil to add to my arsenal of secret potions. I keep the Natures Way Tea Tree Maintenance Spray handy and at any mention in a school notice that the little critters are doing their rounds I nuke the whole Tribe 🙂

        Reply
  2. My oldest got lice about 3 times and gave it to me twice!!! Horrible things! I don’t remember actually getting them as a kid. Now he seems to be too old to be getting them(14) but I am just waiting with bated breath for the youngest(3) to start! That Robicomb mentioned above looks promising.

    Darn!! I scratched!

    Reply
  3. Alexandra

     /  March 5, 2013

    I sat on my hands so I wouldn’t scratch…

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 5, 2013

      I think it and scratch ….. my entire house smells like aniseed and oil — the kids are so lathered up in what ever “anti lice” or “repel lice” I can find …. I am afraid to have their heads touch the furniture, as we are going to have those oil head marks everywhere at this point.

      Reply
      • Alexandra

         /  March 6, 2013

        and antimacassars make a fashion comeback!

        Reply
        • reluctantmom

           /  March 6, 2013

          I did have to google ‘antimaccasars” – A protective covering for the backs of chairs and sofas …. well now I have a new word to work into conversation …. casual like ….

          Reply
  4. funny and gross-as-hell post! kids still get lice these days? wonder if it more common in s africa than here in california because of humidity?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 1, 2013

      Unfortunately for us it swings around about once a year, normally a bit closer to winter, but there we go!

      Reply
  5. Hi There! My kiddos are not yet schoolgoing age, but I have a family member with 4 in Primary School and they swear by this little gadget: the Robicomb. Now, I cannot personally vouch for it, but hey, by the sound of it, with the horror of those creepy thingies, I’d try ANYTHING!!! Here’s the link if you’re interested – http://www.robicomb.co.za/ (If you do get it…Can you please let us know if this thing actually works?… :)… )

    Reply
  6. alittlelessfluff

     /  March 1, 2013

    Lice creep me the hell out. I dont pray as often as I should but I swear I do pray that my kids dont get lice. I think I once actually had a nightmare about it.

    Reply
  1. IT | Di Doodles About Stuff

Leave a Reply

