Cirque du Soleil – oh my grapefruit, it is amazing ….

1303_Cirque

Last night we went to Grand West to watch Cirque du Soleil’s Dralion show.

Kennith was good enough to see the show was coming, and book tickets.  I really enjoy watching Cirque du Soleil on television, and I can’t imagine there will be too many opportunities for me to see it live in Cape Town.  Yay for Kennith!

I knew it was going to be good, but I did not realise it was going to be so damn brilliant.

The show is flawless.  The casts ability to co-ordinate their movements and to move so seamlessly is beyond what your brain can absorb.

There are various acts/scenes and the one that I thought was the most impressive is the trampoline troupe.

There is no way to explain what they do, and how well timed they are — if I was watching it on television or in a movie theatre I would be convinced there was ‘smoke and mirrors” and what I was seeing was not actually happening.  But there were 6 people bouncing around and flinging themselves against a wall.

It is a long time since I have sat with my mouth open in amazement!!  I spent about two hours with my lower jaw firmly disengaged from the top jaw.

The moves they do, the effortless manner in which what appears to be impossible feats makes your head ache a bit.  Actually it also made me want to go and jump on my trampoline wearing Lycra and see if I could also run up a wall, and off the edge of the roof of my house with such control and artistry.

I am doubtful, but need to just find the right hat and then I will be off on the trampoline we have installed.  I am sure with a few hours of practice and a few glasses of wine it should be easy-peasy.

The show is about two hours short.  The makeup, the artistry, the acts, the band, the clowns, the choreography is incredible.

I am not sure where they make people who perform in Cirque du Soleil, but I am pretty sure it is with a totally different genetic code that I have — my genetic code makes me trip over my feet on a dead flat surface.  These people fold themselves over double and juggle six balls, and still manage to walk off stage looking like they have done nothing much.

The show is mind blowing.  It will amaze, stun and alarm you!!  Grab tickets if they are still available, the most memorable show you will ever see.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. One Parent Short

     /  March 7, 2013

    Whoa…but that’s a little pricey. If I sell one of my kids I can afford to take the other one.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 7, 2013

      Yes, it is a bit pricey …. if you sell both kids then you can afford to go and get really good seats!!

      Reply
  2. Denise

     /  March 7, 2013

    eeeek, so glad it is THAT awesome! We are taking our 5 year old to see it in jhb, can’t wait!

    Reply
  3. Sounds awesome. Are definitely going to check it out. Jhb is up next it looks like.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

