Oppan Gangnam Style!

Keep-Calm-and-Gangnam-Style

Last week a group of us girls went out for a “ladies night!”

Nothing too raucous, just a night out with the girls.  Seems tame enough, right?

We decided to plan ahead and arranged a taxi service, so that none of us had to sit there like Johnny-no-mates and drink one glass of wine, while the rest of the group lost control of their bladder.

That my friend is an example of an adult decision.  That my friend is the last adult decision I made that evening.

We contacted Dude Bru and had them drop us off and then scheduled a collection for later in the evening.

At the outset you are sitting there and telling yourself  “really, we do not need a taxi service…. what a waste of money” but then once you are wearing Mickey Mouse ears, drinking something red out of a fish bowl and doing synchronised moves to Gangnam Style you realise that the taxi service was actually a really good idea.

You would congratulate yourself if you could stop your crazy arsed dance moves.

You must know if I am dancing, that it is about 60 minutes after when I should have gone home already.  I don’t dance – I have no brain-ear-feet co-ordination.  I pray there was no internal CCTV there that evening.

Dudebru – maybe not the most elegant of vehicles, and the sign on the roof sort of gave you a feeling that you may need to drink more than you planned to get back in the vehicle, but there you go.

At least you will get home safely and there was no risk of us spending the entire Easter Weekend at the Elsies River jail.

{If you are in Cape Town, need a night out, need a reliable lift home, contact Dudebru – you do not have to join, you can use them as and when needed, and they are flipping reasonable.}

We headed out to Stardust in Rondebosch, and it was so much fun.  Had never been there before – but there is such a great vibe, that you cannot help but have a great time.

I am always a bit reluctant at the outset of these evening, and try to look for a reason why not to go. My social phobia/fear of these situations does get me quite worked up by the time I get there.

But, it was a really a fun evening (of course I am so nervous I drink far more than I set out to, because I am so nervous about drinking far more than I plan to … and so the worm turns in the tequila).

I played a bit with my food.

I drank way more than I planned.  One minute I am coherent and able to say semi-intellectual things, then the next thing it is all over and I am being bundled home.

Good evening out.  Bad two days that followed.

I have realised I am way too old for this nonsense, and take two days following to recover – and no one looks good being a cucumber walrus!

reluctantmom

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. love your friend in the background hiding her face! HAHAHA:)

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  April 4, 2013

      Yes, she is quietly hoping that some form of dignity will return to this evening …. sadly this was about the high point of the dignity, it was all a pretty slippery slope after this.

      Reply
  2. The Blessed Barrenness

     /  April 3, 2013

    Hahahaha! Celeste, the next time I’m in Cape Town, we HAVE to organize an evening like this, I think you and I are cut from the same cloth! I always start every girls night out (which are few and far between and perhaps half of the problem) saying I will not drink more than 2 drinks and the next thing I know, I’m on first name basis with the shooter girl and drinking something pink that is served in a syringe and will no doubt come up later on just as pink and disgusting and I will require two days flat on my back on the couch with a churning stomach to recover!
    Fun times! *snigger*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

