Honey Boo Boo Child!

honey-boo-boo

I will confess that I watched one three episode of Honey Boo Boo.

I am not sure what it is about, but there was a pig named Glittz or Glitter.  The family lives in a very small house.  No one is called by their birth name, and all have nicknames.  One of the daughters, who is about 16 is pregnant, and other than that a fairly every day sort of family.

Clearly none of the glitz of the Kardashians.  The production budget on this reality show must be about 25 cents per show.  Maybe.  I sometimes need sub-titles even though they are speaking English.

They seem to eat on paper plates and with plastic cutlery.  They all appear to sit on one couch, which comfortably maybe takes two people.  I keep wondering if their house is actually a spin off of  “Extreme Home Makeovers” and this is the “before”shots.  If it isn’t, I do think the guys at Extreme Make Overs do need to give the folks over at “Here comes Honey Boo Boo” a call.

The kitchen sink does not have an outlet, so it runs into a bucket, that they empty in the garden,  GO GREEN I guess?  But pageant entries and costumes are expensive, and maybe indoor plumbing is not on the list for this Xmas.

Other than that, I am still a bit unsure of exactly what the story line is.

They seem to be a normal family.  If normal is everyone is a little overweight, and mom has crust stuff in the fat folds on her neck.

The term “broke down red necked-nised hill-billies” … does tend to jump into one’s consciousness when watching this show.

I have no idea what the draw card is to Honey Boo Boo Child – but I am strangely attracted to it.  I am not sure if this is an indication of my taste, or the high quality of the show.

That being said, I have now seen three (I think I might have rewatched one twice) episodes.  I would quite happily spend a few hours with a large packet of Chipniks, a bottle of Chenin Blanc, and some more valuable time with Honey Boo Boo and her family.

Honey Boo Boo is Alana Thompson and one of the breakout stars of the‘Toddlers and Tiaras’ reality show.

On the upside I find that if I just watch half a dozen episodes, get my fill, then I tend to realise that it makes me feel nauseous and then I never watch it again.

But for now I am stalking Honey Boo Boo Child.  And the pig!

Honey_Boo_boo_hates_justin_bieber

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Lau

     /  April 23, 2013

    Hahaha, I think it is the funniest thing since “The Worlds Dumbest…” They are hilarious and completely disgusting – who the hell burps and farts on live television and just carries on talking? OMG have you seen the mom’s feet? Anyway, they never seize to amaze me and its just funny. Maybe the novelty of dumbness will wear off eventually – until then, I will enjoy a show that contains scenes of a brokedown, rednekednized nature and vomit a little in my mouth occasionally.

    Thanks Tania – I didn’t know Jon and Kate got divorced, wouldn’t wanna be her. Could do with the tummy tuck though.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  April 23, 2013

      It is all so bad that it is a bit like you cannot tear your eyes off it. In my defense I have no idea when it is on, and I tend to stumble past it by accident, and then I am hooked. Of course reminding myself how “in bad taste this show is” all the time.

      By guilty little pleasure!

      Reply
      • Lau

         /  April 23, 2013

        I don’t know that the re-runs are on a Saturday morning sometime, or that one of the girls share a name with me (which creates a bile like taste, on the side – of my vomit). In your defense, it does taste bad! LOL!

        Reply
  2. Tania

     /  April 23, 2013

    It entertains me too, if only to show my how not to live. I agree however with Kirsty that they all seem to have a good bond with one another, could that be for tv reality only? I am now thinking of Kate Plus 8 that is no longer Jon & Kate Plus 8… what ever happened to daddy dearest?… the pressure get too much for him?… not such a perfect family after all.

    Reply
  3. Wow. Can’t believe that anyone watches that crap. That show is appalling. And I’m basing my judgement on having seen five minutes of it. What utter nonsense and rubbish. I will give it a miss thanks.

    Reply
  4. I was watching yesterday. I had these three thoughts:
    1. I find it hilarious that they sometimes have to use subtitles.
    2. That long couch thing which seems to be a whole bunch of recliners in one, is the ugliest piece of furniture I have ever seen.
    3. They seem to have a really great family bond, they all get on so well. So that’s something important to note.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

