Christiaan Conradie – no one does old ladies like you!!

The Bellville Library has an art exhibit area, and I pop in there from time to time and take a walk around.

The gallery often has interesting work, and artists I might never see, just because our paths don’t cross.  It is free, so if you are in the area, stop by.

Today I saw this piece by Christiaan Conradie and if I had a cheque book I would have written out a cheque right there.

(And the cheque would have bounced, and the Sherriff of the court would arrive to repossess my furniture as I hid in the wendy house with this painting, because no one is going to take this away from me … my precious)

I did not take the picture of the picture featured below – I “borrowed” it off the website – so it unfortunately does not really give you a clear idea of how fantastic this artist’s work is.  I plan to go and look again on Thursday.  Yes I can visit a piece of art if I like, I am grown up like that.

6261739_orig

I got home today and googled Christiaan Conradie, and oh my word, how brilliant is his work?  I love the piece I saw today.  Do you think I could buy it, put it on my wall and when Kennith goes: “What the fuck is that?”

I can just go: “What, that ….. I’ve had that for ages …. you’ve just never noticed…” and then I can pick a fight with him about how he never notices anything I do, and so the fight can begin.

Anything to draw attention away from the painting on the wall.

Here are some examples of his work:-

510809_orig

1756013_orig

5328500_orig

9283521_orig

I really am beside myself with his work.

Trying to figure out the cost of the painting I saw today, divide it by 54 months and find out if he has a buy-now-and-keep-and-pay-me-with-really-small-installment plan, and really where would I put it just so I could sit and just stare at it all day.

More on this artist.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Charne

     /  May 2, 2013

    I am obviously not grown up enough to appreciate fine art because this made me LAUGH. OUT. LOUD!

    I’m pretty sure it wasn’t meant to be funny, but thanks so much for the laugh. I really, really needed it.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  May 2, 2013

      Art speaks to us all. Differently. Old ladies on your wall clearly is not going to make it easy for you to go about your business at home.

      Reply
  2. KennithB

     /  April 30, 2013

    Great work but I really do not want reminders of what naked old people look like – I think we should spare our kids this trauma!!

    Reply
  3. pamiejane

     /  April 30, 2013

    Wow – that is stunning. I have also just recently discovered Lionel Smit. Awesome. My favourite artist is Duncan Stewart. I think I will need to bankrupt myself sometime to get one of his works – it will be worth it.

    Reply
  4. LOVE his work.

    Check out Lionel Smit at http://www.lionelsmit.co.za/ I bought two Small artworks of his last year. I’m still financially off kilter but I get to look at my two babies everyday and they make so happy! My point is, buy the painting that you love. It feeds your soul and everytime you look at it, you’ll see something you haven’t seen before, and isn’t that just the bees knees?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  April 30, 2013

      Lionel Smit’s work is outstanding. I need to give Christiaan some real thought ……

      Reply
  5. reluctantmom

     /  April 30, 2013

    I absolutely love his work. I am so putting it on my “things to buy this year” list.

    I really think the girls are so pretty, they do not need to go to University to meet a husband …. I am sure I can just stop investing money in to that.

    Reply
  6. Your title on this post immediately grabbed my attention! Wow, his work is really something different. I especially like the one on the chair! There are so many fantastic artists out there that we just don’t know about. Thank you for bringing his work to our attention.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

