Just saying ….

I often/always amazed at what I have to say in my house.

What I have to scream across the room/passage/table at my children.

I know there is the old saying about the fact that sooner or later, you realise you are your mother, because there you are yelling and you think to yourself  – I swore I would never say that when I had kids.

But there you go.  Breaking all the rules.  Realising how desperate your mother was.  Forgiving her for having a total shit fit when you were a kid.  Because now you are standing there having the same shit fit.  The wheel he turns.

Last night I was trying to cram in a few more minutes works, and the kids were watching tv/throwing the box of pencils on the floor/fighting with each other about who was going to sit on which couch — the usual state of the nation in my home.  It was escalating, and I am like a magnet.

Georgia showing me bizarre pieces of paper/art, and Isabelle unpacking my desk, and trying to get the glitter back on the glitter tube.  I just needed to finish an email, so I could log off and call this day finished.

I was forced to say: “Isabelle, get my giraffe off your head!”  Which was only surpassed by: Leave the toilet brush alone … no …. it is not a toy.  Put. It. Back.  Now!”

Really not something I thought I would ever need to say.

1305_Shit Mom Says

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Love this post! Kids really do tend to push us to the limits. Ad this to your frustration: an ex-husband who thinks nothing of telling a 10 year old that marijuana should be legalized! The damage control I had to do on that one was monumental and I ended up sounding like my mom. Halfway through I caught myself thinking “WTF?!?!?!? I’ve turned into my mom!”

    Reply
  2. I checked my son’s homework last night. He had to write ten sentences about his family. Number 1 was: My dad is very farty.
    I was tempted to leave it alone.

    Reply
  3. OMG! Couldn’t agree more. Dudie is 3 but as outspoken and opinionated as the next politician. I love that he can stand his ground but cringe as he question EVERYTHING we say or do….We do time outs so I count to 3 then thats the end of it. His Dad counts to five, no idea why? This child tells me that I count too fast! WTF? LMAO. Clever monkey

    Reply
    • Tania

       /  May 8, 2013

      Much like my 5 year old daughter who has been like that since birth. It is cute but can be very frustrating many a day.

      Reply
  4. Tania

     /  May 8, 2013

    Yup… so the wheel begins to turn on us !! We have however raised a nation of young children who are not afraid to speak their mind, that is added frustration when you have a child who is brave enough to contradict and negotiate every request and instruction their parent gives them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

