You say psycho like it is a bad thing …..

{warning — mommy venting …. it is not pretty, it is a little bit need two Zolofts}

I am a get quiet when I am really cross person.

If I am ranting like a lunatic then you know this will blow over relatively quickly. If I purse my lips, go quiet and stare at you, then it is pretty much time to flee — or at the very least, just back off and give me some space because the little voices in my head are all screaming.  And not in unison.

This evening I was sitting with the kids doing homework.  At some point I started telling them about how records work.

In no way related to the subject at hand.

I was all telling them stuff and reliving the year we discovered electricity and all. I dip my hand into the record sleeve and start explaining how the record needle works, and and and ….. all quite jazzy, and much more “show and tell” than I would normally would be.  But there I am giving this sane mommy thing a run for it’s money.

I look into the record jacket and see that one of the records is broken.

Connor starts explaining … quickly …. how he was showing Georgia and it fell and it broke and he is so sorry.

I know Connor.  One does not pass a record from Connor to Georgia.

My guess is they were monkeying – he was probably the instigator  and Georgia’s ball skills are atrocious.  My guess is her record catching skills are left wanting at about the time Connor lobbed it across the room.  Frisby anyone?

It is an old record.  Gigi actually.  Very little sentimental value.  I had found it in a second hand store and it had the original jacket, and I wanted to frame it.

I am so angry.  Not because they had broken the record (okay also because of that) but because they thought they could hide it from me, and only confessed when they realised I had started a rather unfortunately timed “show and tell!”

I was so angry.  White lips, quivering angry.

I really hate deceit. I really do.  I knew he thought he had got away with it, and then he is like “what the hell, show and tell now!!  Now!!!”

I sent Connor and Georgia to bed – it was 18h23.

I stripped her of her “Princess for a Day” title.  I could see Connor was the more sorry.  But he always is.  In this case I know he was the instigator and he was the one who hid it.  How?  My spidey sense that all moms have.

I went d0wn the passage now to check they were in bed, and no one had bailed over the wall to make a run for it.  Connor has written this very long, very heart felt letter about how sorry he is.  It includes a graphic of him crying.  The boy has mad illustration skills.

I am at that juncture where Connor has been doing a lot of things lately that are just clumsy.  Stupid.  Careless. A wanton disregard of the rules (bet you never thought you would hear that phrase outside a Jane Austin novel).

He knows he is monkeying around and seeing how far he can push it.

Getting out the car today, he was trying to keep Georgia getting in to the boot of the car to get her school bag.  When she got upset, and he realised I was standing there, then he feigned a huge effort to placate her and help her with her bag.

Again being a monkey, and just arsing around, and in so doing crushed half a loaf of fresh bread —- I have little regard for the bread. I have little regard for the record.

I am annoyed that he is starting to push the boundaries.  He is really just seeing how far he can go each day.

And because he is so quick to apologise and say he is sorry …. then you go “okay my boy, it is okay” and 10 minutes later he is up to the same shit.

I know I should be more “ah, kids will be kids” but seriously! He broke my record, and then hid it from me.

Fitting punishment- I am going to find another one, and make him pay for it.

As he does not earn a salary like other small kids in a third  world country, he is going to be on dog shit duty for the next three weeks!  No dog shit picking up, no television on the weekends.

I realise I will have my mother’s day gifts retracted quite soon, and my “best mom” sign quietly stolen in the night.  Shit happens, and then you send your son to pick it up.

11_19_048_051.1L

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Charne

     /  May 14, 2013

    Am i seeing things or does that say “unbreakable”?

    Reply
  2. Jenny

     /  May 14, 2013

    Great solution!

    Reply
  3. I feel your pain. I really really do. I can always figure out the culprint because it goes like this. Child A blames Child B. Child B blames Child C. Child C blames Child B. Therefore the culprit is Child A. No-one rats out the perpetrator. And there is nothing wrong with dog poo duty. I paid for my first barbie doll with dog poo duty. Kids need chores. Sadly, mine have learned about children’s rights (what idiot taught them about child labour anyway?) and they refuse to do anything without payment.

    Reply
    • Tania

       /  May 14, 2013

      Victoria you will seriously need to teach your children that they will often need to do things without getting pay or some kind of remuneration from it. They are going to be very disappointed in life as adults if they are always wanting payment for anything and everything they do. 😉

      Reply
  4. janefraser101

     /  May 13, 2013

    Erm did you notice the record says ‘Unbreakable’… I say go back to the 70s and demand a refund!

    Oh and I can only commiserate. Quinn=Connor exactly atm. Little shits. It’s puberty. It’s normal apparently, but OMFG so annoying!!! I told Quinn tonight that I don;t like him much at the moment and he appears to be doing as much as possible t reinforce that feeling… I asked him to try to think about it rationally and work out what the payback can possibly be and whether it’s a good avenue to pursue. The thing is atm they are simply not thinking their brains are all on impulse and they just act and react with literally no analytical forethought, Check out this TED talk…Sarah-Jayne Blakemore: The mysterious workings of the adolescent brain -> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zVS8HIPUng

    Reply
    • Tania

       /  May 14, 2013

      Oh how I feel for you both. My son is 11 almost 12.

      Reply
      • Thanks. Quinn is 13.5… I live in hope as our once cute and likable neighbour was a royal-shit at this age too (he nearly burned down my garage – REALLY) and now 12-18 months later he is a lovely young-man. It helps, even though it’s still a bitch to endure at times when they are doing it. Apparently the key is to remain constant and keep those boundaries there. They naturally test them and want to flex their independence, but need to feel safe and know you are still there. (Even if they pretend they don’t care).

        Reply

Leave a Reply

