Princesses, manners and sharing ….

{sponsored post, but very cute girl show}

Both my girls love princess things.  Definitely more Georgia than Isabelle.

Isabelle wore a penguin hat all day on Sunday but told everyone she was a chicken —  she might be into farm animals more, but she is failing on the ability to recognise farm animals, which we need to look in to.

Isabelle only likes princess stuff if Georgia is holding a princess thing, and Isabelle wants it now.  From her.

Isabelle will invoke the “share share share” request usually associated with wild arm waving, a grabbing motion and snot collecting on her upper lip.

I have given up trying to dissuade the girls that princesses lack career paths, any ambition and appear to have no aspirations other than marrying well.

Trying to deny your girl child the right to become the princess she dreams about, is about as futile as trying to deny your boy child the right to play with guns.

I do not buy guns for my boy child, ever.  But sooner or later he is going to make a “gun” out of macaroni and stand around going “peeuw-peeuw” whilst you roll your eyes and wonder where it all went so wrong.

Girls are going to want to be princesses.  Boys are going to want to make guns and jump off the roof into the pool.

Accept it.  Ensure your medical aid is up to date (for the boys) and take your credit card out for a little run (for your girl.)

The folks over at Walt Disney’s PR company contacted me and asked me if I would kindly tune my DSTV to channel 309 (Junior Disney) – Sofia the   First on Saturday 11 May at 09:00.

Okay, so I have missed that date, but definitely booked the TV lounge for Saturday the 18th May 2013.

sofia_banner

So the folks over at the PR place say:  While Disney princess fairytales have been enchanting audiences for more than 70 years, this is the first time a series has centered on a princess as a little girl.

The stories are designed to communicate positive messages and life lessons that are applicable to preschool-aged children. The series is a production of Disney Television Animation.

Sofia the First stories are set in the storybook world of young Sofia who starts out life as a regular girl. But when her mum marries the king, she is whisked off to a glamorous, but sometimes confusing, castle world of royalty, pomp and new step-siblings, Amber and James.

Sofia the First will include appearances by Fauna, Flora and Merryweather (fairies seen in Disney’s classic Sleeping Beauty) as the headmistresses of Royal Prep, the academy that Sofia, along with other princes and princesses, attends.

Special event appearances will be made by classic characters including Cinderella and other Disney Princesses.

Nancy Kanter, Senior Vice President, Original Programming and General Manager, Disney Junior Worldwide, said, “In Sofia, we have a ‘peer to peer princess,’ a relatable girl experiencing the same social issues as our young viewers – learning how to fit in, making new friends, conquering new skills and building sibling relationships.”

She continued, “Although Sofia will have plenty of pretty dresses and sparkly shoes, our stories will show Sofia, and our viewers, that what makes a real princess is what’s inside, not what’s outside. That the inner character of kindness, generosity, loyalty, honesty and grace make you special, not the dress you wear.”

I received a box today, with a cute sash – I was going to wear that with the crown, but they sash was not exactly fitting around my torso.

IMG_5964

IMG_5970

IMG_5974

IMG_5976

IMG_5978

I see Sofia the First has a little roll out number of good manners.

I am really curious how that is going to unfold this evening as I present 1 crown and 1 matching sash to 2 girls!!  I think Georgia will run faster, I think that Isabelle will punch harder.

Catch Sofia the First on a small screen near you — I suggest parking the kids in front of the show, and you lying on the couch with a cup of tea and a book.

cp_FWB_Jake&NP_20120926

I have one Junior Disney pack to give away.  Unfortunately it is not Sofia the First, but maybe because the girls are getting a cool new princess show, we can send something to the boys, or to a girl who digs pirates.

I will pick one at random end of day Friday, 17 May 2013 — again just leave a comment and tell me whose voice will be used in the new show Sofia the First, as Sofia.  The First.

Here is a hint: Ariel Winter from Modern Families.

Actually it is not a hint it is the answer.

I will pick one at random, and send you a Disney Lunchbox, and Jake and the Neverland Pirates: Stickers,  Height Chart, Necklace and Head band.  Easy peasy.

No need to like anything, or promise me your first born.  Just leave a comment.  With the answer I have just given you.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. reluctantmom

     /  May 17, 2013

    Thank you everyone for entering.

    Entries for this one are now closed, I will take a look at it on Monday, and announce a winner on Wednesday. It is a “moer” of a week,so I do not want to promise you a time – — will announce.

    Have a good weekend, one and all!

    Reply
  2. Ariel Winter.
    Jake makes my boys happy, but more importantly enables me to sleep a little longer on the weekends. TV bribes FTW.

    Reply
  3. V

     /  May 16, 2013

    Ariel Winter from Modern Families.

    I am due for a change in luck!!

    Reply
  4. Yoli

     /  May 15, 2013

    Ariel Winter

    Reply
  5. Jimina

     /  May 15, 2013

    Ariel Winter. I love your comps. So easy to enter.

    Reply
  6. rushana

     /  May 14, 2013

    Ariel winter and Sofia the first is not a typical princess, she plays with animals, runs around and is not “stiff”. She is a normal little girl who just happens to be a princess. A show I.would definitely allow my some and daughter to.watch:)

    Reply
  7. Karen

     /  May 14, 2013

    Ariel Winter. And Princess Sofia is quite a cute program.

    Reply
  8. Remona

     /  May 14, 2013

    Ariel Winter. My 5year old is going throug a Pirate fase and he would love the stickers and gear.

    Reply
  9. Charne

     /  May 14, 2013

    Ariel Winter from Modern Family!!

    How clever am I!?

    Reply
  10. I’ve seen that Sofia the first over the weekend – actually bloody cute! My pink terrorist would through a bit performance for a pink crown like that – good luck on peace talks between your two.

    Reply
  11. Lau

     /  May 14, 2013

    Ariel Winter. Not sure if you watch Modern Family, but its awesome, hilariously funny and I just love it. I’m actually answering as I have a niece and nephew around these ages. My older boys are way to old and baby boy is less than half a year. Will push through to the sister in law to have “our princess” watch Sofia The First.

    Reply
  12. Ariel Winter 🙂

    Reply
  13. Ariel Winter.
    Lorelai will love princess Sofia and Amandalynn is a huge Jake fan.

    Reply
  14. Ariel Winter. Jake and the Neverland Pirates is my four-year-old son’s favourite show. He has a squint and has to wear an eye patch for 4 hours every day and pretending he is a pirate makes it a lot easier for him.

    Reply
  15. Ariel Winter

    Reply
  16. Kiara

     /  May 14, 2013

    Ariel Winter
    Sounds like a lovely show – will record for Bekah 🙂 Also Jake and the Never Land Pirates rocks!!!

    Reply
  17. Janette Johnson

     /  May 14, 2013

    Ariel Winter

    Reply
  18. Tania

     /  May 14, 2013

    Ariel Winter.
    I think I am going to like Sofia The First very much. The character she is going to be and portray. Thumbs Up!

    Reply
  19. Ariel Winter
    Hope the fighting over the crown and sash doesn’t get too loud.

    Reply
  20. Ariel Winter.

    Reply
  21. kim

     /  May 14, 2013

    Answer: ariel Winter
    My little girl loves being a pirate too. Somedays she is a princess pirate , at least she has a great imagination

    Reply
  22. mich.vanvuuren@gmail.com

     /  May 14, 2013

    You Reluctant mom are SO BLESSED with wit and character and make me laugh out loud daily! What better medicine? Thank you x x Michelle van Vuuren x x x
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

    Reply
  1. The reason Reluctant Mom Blog has no commercial longetivity … |

Leave a Reply

