The joy of cousins. The wonder of Skype.

My brother and sister in law live in Glasgow, Scotland.

They have two gorgeous boys Finn and Noah.

GangnamStyle001

We have been meaning to try and get them to write to each other, or something, just to reinforce the knowledge that they were cousins, and …. well, for no other reason.

Last night we set up a Skype chat.  Me and my three kids on one chair all trying to peer into the laptop camera.

Jackie, and her two boys – who were jumping on her bed at the same time as chatting to us.

It was such a wonderful experience.  You sort of forgot that a few thousand kilometers separated us.  My kids were in varying stages of excitement and interest.  While Finn was talking, we were watching Noah in the background unpacking his mom’s pyjamas, and then suddenly revealed Jackie’s underwear.

The kids chatted as if they were sitting across the table from one another.

Both sets of kids struggled a bit to always understand the accent of the other.  Connor wanted to know why they spoke funny – I tried to explain to him that to them, we speak funny.

We all agreed Georgia spoke the funniest.  Georgia speaks with a “I was born in Hollywood” twang, but was originally from Hamstead.  No idea where that comes from.

The highlight for me was when Finn asked if Connor knew “gangam style” – to which Connor sheepishly admitted he did.  Jackie then found the song on her ipad, played it and then all the kids danced to gangam style.

Connor sat this one out.

All an over feel good experience.  And remembering again that Gangam Style is the international dance of friendship.  And cousins.

Sometimes it is really nice to have kids.

Thanks Skype, you worked that like a boss!

news illustrated 121201 GStyle outline

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. My mother-in-law recently married an Aussie and will be moving there next week. Our kids are devastated. I’d doubted whether Skyping would be able to ease the pain of the separation, so I’m glad I read this. It sounds possible after all.

    Reply
  2. Hilary

     /  May 16, 2013

    That’s very sweet Celeste. Have the kids ever been together? Seems like a family trip to Scotland is in order LOL.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  May 17, 2013

      My older two have met Noah, but it was many years ago — I have met Noah and Finn when I travelled to Scotland. I would love us to go there, and Noah and Finn to come here for a visit.

      Finn seemed quite blown away that we had a pool!! Granted not as impressed as he was to find out we had a snake, but there we go.

      Reply
  3. My boys (4 and 8) have grown up with Skyping their similar-aged boy cousins in America. They sing songs together, show each other toys and drawings, and compare LEGO constructions and just generally have a really good relationship even though we live on different continents. Last week my boys got some Ninjago LEGO from a family friend and the first comment from my four-year-old was “Please can we Skype so I can show my cousins.” My mum also uses Skype to keep in touch with her children and grandchildren who are spread all around the world. Skype rocks!

    Reply
  4. Tania

     /  May 16, 2013

    I bet it was a feel good experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

