The pitter patter of little black feet ……

Connor asked me yesterday if I am ever just sad.  Sad for no reason.  Just sad!

I told him I was, and it is okay to be sad, you do not have to be “happy” all the time, because people tell you to be.

He started telling me that he has felt really sad for the last two or three weeks.  He says he sits in class and it feels like a dark cloud comes over him, and he is just sad.

He doesn’t know why he is sad.  He doesn’t know how not to be sad.

He asked me what I do when I feel sad.

I said I tend to want to find time and places where I can just be alone, and have a bit of time and space to work through how I feel.

Sometimes it helps to do something you enjoy, even if you are not in the mood, because sometimes whilst doing what you enjoy, you start to smile, and then the cloud breaks and you get a glimmer of “feeling okay” ….

Connor has always been an old soul.  He feels too much, he values how you feel too much in his day.

I worry for Connor.

I worry there is a black dog sniffing around his door.

130523_black-dog

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Jennifer Butler Basile

     /  May 24, 2013

    What legacy do we leave our kids? I wonder when/if my struggles will manifest themselves in my children. At the very least, what will be the effect of watching me flounder all these years? Thoughtful post, beautifully written. Great talk you had with him.

    Reply
  2. The Blessed Barrenness

     /  May 24, 2013

    I think it’s fantastic that he is able to verbalize what it is that he is feeling and that he has you to talk to. Keep an eye on him Celeste.
    xxx

    Reply
  3. Hilary

     /  May 24, 2013

    This post has made me feel sad. I know, from what you’ve shared, some of the things you’ve gone through and hope that bloody dog steers clear of him!!!

    Reply
  4. Ai, I can see what you are saying. I also find physical exercise helps a lot

    Reply
  5. 😦 Poor kiddo. Jason went through a time like that. He found a sport he is passionate about and it changed thankfully

    Reply
  6. Tania

     /  May 24, 2013

    Just continue to keep a close eye on him. He has the best person to help him right @ home, You.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

