Volunteering at Ubuntu House ….

I have had “must volunteer at Ubuntu House” sitting on my sh*t do to list for years.  Not figuratively years, but literal years.  I think since 2010 if I recall correctly.

I keep printing out the forms, looking for my best inky pen, filling them in.

Then promptly losing them on my desk, and getting side tracked with life.

I phone Ubuntu House again, they send the forms, again, and I would promptly repeat the process.

But not this year.  This year, this month I have my stuff together.

Saturday I am attending their “Volunteer Course” which I assume will include information about which side of the baby to keep upright.  How to clean poo bums.  How to cuddle a baby that is struggling with human interaction, and hopefully how not to get too attached so you do not try to sneak a baby out of the center all snuggled up against you.

I think they have a rule about that.

Excited. Lots.

Apprehensive.  A bit.

130529_ubuntu-house

 

Want to support Ubuntu House?  You can, visit their page and see what they need.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. The Blessed Barrenness

     /  May 29, 2013

    I worked as a volunteer at Nazareth House before moving to Jozi. What you’re doing… its the most rewarding thing you’ll ever do!

    Reply
  2. Tania

     /  May 29, 2013

    Awesome. Good for you! I’m spending my morning @ a swimming club committee meeting. So we all have something important and unselfish to do! ( I would rather have a lie in! )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

