“Being crazy isn’t enough.” Exclusive Books Giveaway ….Dr Suess Hamper

20130708_dr seuss

{this is a sponsored post from my favourite book retailer – Exclusive Books}

exclusive-books-logo

Between 1 July and 31 July 2013, the world of Dr Seuss filled with Grinches, Cats in Hats, Foxes in Socks, Green Eggs and Ham and other such weird and wonderful creatures, will come alive at Exclusive Books. A bumper Dr Seuss month featuring special books, puzzles, board games and plush toys at fabulous prices will be available for the young and the young at heart.

Dr Seuss titles such as Oh The Places You Will Go, The Bippolo Seed, The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham are a part of the fabric of childhood.

They are the stories that entertain, thrill and amuse every child with fantastic-al rhythms and marvellous rhymes.

However, the most wonderful part about Dr Seuss is the motivational message in his stories.

For centuries, he has encouraged children to be brave, be original and make their own way in the world as seen in his quote – “Today you are you! That is truer than true! There is no one alive who is you-er than you!”

Fantastic Dr Seuss themed events for children will take place at stores around the country on Saturday 13 July at 11h00 and 13h00. The stores participating include: Canal Walk in Cape Town, Mimosa Mall in Bloemfontein, Walmer Park in Port Elizabeth, Gateway in Durban, Nicolway in Johannesburg and Centurion in Pretoria.

Exclusive Books looks forward to welcoming the Dr Seuss fans of South Africa to their stores to take up the great promotions on offer.

As Dr Seuss said “Fun is good!” and we plan to have lots of it in July.

I love Dr Suess.

If you don’t have anything in your children’s bookshelves yet, then please please take advantage of this give away.  You know how much I adore books, and a hamper of Dr Suess is a brilliant gift.

Know someone having a birthday soon? Or want to hide this away until Xmas?  Or just want to jump out wearing your striped hat screaming “surprise!”

cat_in_the_hat

I have a stunning Dr Seuss Hamper Give Away which consisting of a plush toy, Dr Seuss box set collection and puzzle valued at one thousand smacker’oos.

All you need to do is leave a comment on this blog post before some random time on Sunday afternoon, 14 July 2013 – you will be entered, and I will announce the winner on Tuesday, 16 July 2013.

Just leave a comment with your favourite Dr Seuss quote {here are a couple to help you along the way}…. and that is all.  I will pick a winner and send you a Dr Suess Hamper.  What?  No seriously it is that easy.  No need to “like” “repost” “re-like” “retweet” or what ever else that usually drives me crazy.

I like competitions you can enter and then just win stuff.

30DrSeuss_quotes

Yay for Exclusive Books, and yay for Theodor Seuss Geisel and yay for you for having a fairly good chance of winning.

Leave a comment

48 Comments

  1. Rachel Tucker

     /  July 17, 2013

    Hey Celeste. I’m not particularly tech savy so I may have missed an obvious post, but, who won this awesome prize?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 18, 2013

      You are very tech[-savvy, I just did not get around to it.

      Reply
  2. I love every single quote but if I had to choose one for today, it would be “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it’s happened.”

    Holding thumbs because a) Zoe has no Dr Seuss books in her booksheft (very bad mommy) and b) it’s my birthday on the 20th. It would be awesome to win this hamper!

    Reply
  3. reluctantmom

     /  July 14, 2013

    It’s 20h47 on 2013/074/14 – thanks everyone for entering. Will do random pointing at screen so, though I am very intrigued by some of the Dr Suess quotes.

    Reply
  4. Joanne de Bruin

     /  July 13, 2013

    ADULTS ARE JUST OBSOLETE CHILDREN AND THE HELL WITH THEM.

    Reply
  5. Fatima

     /  July 12, 2013

    What a lovely giveaway.
    I like:
    “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You”

    Reply
  6. I love Dr Seuss stories, and I’d love my son to know and love them too.

    Reply
  7. Beth_N

     /  July 12, 2013

    They are all inspiring, but a fav “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

    Reply
  8. Anita Steenkamp

     /  July 12, 2013

    Be Awesome! Be a Booknut!

    Reply
  9. Me: Be who you are and say what say what you mean because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind. I used ti squote on my email signature

    Dudie: A persons a person no matter how small. He gently reminds me “no matter how small”

    Reply
  10. Nicole

     /  July 12, 2013

    I waaaaannnnaaaa win! My son is 7 months old and loves books already and he has quite a collection – i could send you photos to see if you want. Anyway, I just KNOW that he’ll love Dr. Seuss. How awesome would it be to add these to his collection. Ah come on… Lol!

    “So be sure when you step, Step with care and great tact. And remember that life’s A Great Balancing Act. And will you succeed? Yes! You will, indeed! (98 and ¾ percent guaranteed) Kid, you’ll move mountains.”

    Reply
  11. Beverley

     /  July 11, 2013

    We all love Dr Seuss! And it’s my trio’s birthday on the 21st!
    My favourite quote is “You have brains in your head, you have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you choose”

    Reply
  12. I adore Dr Seuss and his messages … the best quote has to be from The Lorax:
    “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot,
    Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

    Reply
  13. Clare Faria

     /  July 11, 2013

    “Unless”. Great meaning behind the Lorax!

    Reply
  14. I was only a little girl when I discovered Dr Seuss and The Lorax (in Afrikaans) in our primary school library. I took it out on loan every week until I was stopped. I later forgot what it was called and searched for it all over later in life. It was my creative inspiration. When my daughter was turned 4 The Lorax was released as an animation and I was stoked beyond believe. It was her first Dr Seuss experience but I don’t know who enjoyed themselves more watching the movie, me or her.

    “It’s not about what it is, it’s about what it can become.” The Lorax

    Reply
  15. What an awesome giveaway! My favourite is: “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

    Reply
  16. Juanne

     /  July 10, 2013

    I LOVE Dr Seuss, especially Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax Movie. I think I love it more than my daughter (insert evil grin)! There are so so many awesome quotes out there but if I had to choose one, it’ll be this one – “Be awesome! Be a book nut!” Plain & Simple ~

    Reply
  17. You’re off to great places,
    Today is your day!
    Your mountain is waiting,
    So get on your way!

    My kids love Dr, Seuss, especially Cat in the Hat and my daughter’s favourite – Fox in Sox

    Reply
  18. “If you never did you should. These things are fun and fun is good.

    Reply
  19. Flip – this post has been a great reminder of how Dr Seuss rocks inspirational wisdom with insightful humour and complete silly all in one! My day is much brighter after saying this quote over and over, really fast… you should try it too:

    “When beetles fight these battles in a bottle with their paddles
    and the bottle’s on a poodle and the poodle’s eating noodles…
    …they call this a muddle puddle tweetle poodle beetle noodle
    bottle paddle battle.”

    Dr Seuss…. “If you’d never been born, then you might be an Isn’t!
    An Isn’t has no fun at all. No, he disn’t.” 🙂

    I promise ill share the prize with my daughter… an upbringing with some fantastical Dr Seuss edutainment!!

    Reply
  20. Dhesh

     /  July 9, 2013

    So many that I love! This one is pretty cool – “You’re off to Great Places! Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting, so get on your way!”

    Reply
  21. Zahira

     /  July 9, 2013

    “It’s opener, out there, in the wide, open air”…so true 🙂

    Reply
  22. Nicci

     /  July 9, 2013

    Many happy memories of my Mom reading it to us as kids. I love One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish so this is where my quote is from “From there to here, from here to there, funny things are everywhere”.

    Reply
  23. Ah what a fabulous giveaway! My favourite seems to bethe favourite of mant others too:
    “You have brains in your head.
    You have feet in your shoes.
    You can steer yourself any direction you choose.”

    I recently went to a good friend’s wedding and her now brother-in-law read from “Oh the places you’ll go” in his speech – and it made me so happy because it reminded me that I MUST read Dr Seuss to my son John 🙂

    Reply
  24. Amy

     /  July 9, 2013

    I love love love Dr Seuss so what a great giveaway. Love this quote 🙂

    ‘We are all a little weird and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love’

    Reply
  25. Kezia

     /  July 9, 2013

    I grew up on Dr Seuss and have so many wonderful memories of my mum reading the books to me. I just cannot limit myself to one quote. But I have managed to cut it down to two:
    1.”So the writer who breeds more words than he needs, is making a chore for the reader who reads”.
    2. “Poor empty pants with nobody inside them”.

    Reply
  26. JOYCE

     /  July 9, 2013

    My mom remembers how she had to read the Cat in the Hat over and over to me. I actually remember little details from the book that totally intrigued me, like the fish in the teapot.
    “He should not be here, ” said the fish in the pot. ” he should not be here when your mother is not.”

    and

    but my personal favroutite:

    “Cat, you ruined mom’s dress!”
    “Honey, it was ruined when she bought it.”

    Reply
  27. My favourite quote has to be “Teeth are always in style”!

    Reply
  28. Jo-Anne

     /  July 9, 2013

    Chloe loves Dr Suess! Got a couple of them on our cells! Love Fox in Socks just because it’s challenging on the tongue! One of my favorite quotes is “A person’s a person, no matter how small! “

    Reply
  29. Natasja

     /  July 9, 2013

    I love: “A person’s a person, no matter how small”.

    Reply
  30. “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” – I have this as a wall sticker in our house – love it!

    Reply
  31. Jimina

     /  July 9, 2013

    We love Dr Seuss! Me, me, me, me, me, me please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  32. Dr Seuss raised me and now he’s raising my offspring – My favourite quote must be, “A person’s a person no matter how small” – It reminds me to treat children like people….Because just having them is not a very good reminder at all.

    Reply
  33. My favourite Dr Seuss quote is: “You’re never too old, too wacky, too wild, to pick up a book and read to a child.”

    Reply
  34. “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened”
    Dr Seuss wrote that? I must say I am surprised, sounds more like Oprah.

    My favourite quote:

    “Today I shall behave as if this is the day I will be remembered”

    Reply
  35. Coco

     /  July 9, 2013

    This is an awesome quote!

    Reply
  36. Coco

     /  July 9, 2013

    So many to choose from but just because it makes me laugh: Teeth are always in style! Oh pick me pick me pretty please!!!!

    Reply
  37. Thanks for sharing this on my FB page. We are crazy about Dr Seuss!! Never read it as a child myself, but I’m now reading it to Blue and we LOVE it. x

    Reply
  38. Carmen

     /  July 8, 2013

    ‘Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple’. What an awesome prize. Love Dr Seuss

    Reply
  39. janefraser101

     /  July 8, 2013

    “When you think things are bad, when you feel sour and blue, when you start to get mad, you should do what I do! Just tell yourself, Duckie, you’re really quite lucky! Some people are much more, oh, ever so much more, oh, muchly much-much more unlucky than you!””

    Reply
  40. I love these books! My favourite quote is: “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

    Reply
  41. Rachel Tucker

     /  July 8, 2013

    Oooooh!! Pick me please. 😏 Dr Seuss has too many pearler quotes but the one that makes me think of you, Celeste, is: ‘be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind’. Perspective!

    Reply
  42. My fav Dr Seuss quote: You have brains in your head, you have feet in your shoes, you can steer yourself any direction you choose!

    Reply
  43. Kirsty

     /  July 8, 2013

    Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers a simple

    Reply
  44. I would not eat them in a box, I would not eat them with a fox. I would not eat them here or there, I would not eat them anywhere. Or can’t it be a quote from a book?

    Reply
  45. Yoli

     /  July 8, 2013

    “There’s no limit to how much you’ll know, depending how far beyond zebra you go.”

    Reply
  46. Claire

     /  July 8, 2013

    Ah Dr Seuss is the BEST ! And there are far too many awesome quotes, but if I have to choose then “Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple” would be the one

    Reply

Leave a Reply

