An era ends ….. Jou ma se blog

I feel like I am faced with the imminent death of something/someone I have come to rely on.

Granted I do not read her blog every day, I usually build up a bit of a backlog, make myself a cup of tea, eat a bag of Chuckles and then catch up on the last three weeks I have missed.

Jou ma se blog is part of the thread of my day.  My week, and how I check that things in the world are still in alignment with the universe – and that good sane parents exist, even in trying circumstances.

Margot is easily one of the most talented bloggers.   I have read her blog since I stumbled upon it all those years ago.  I often go back and read a blog post again, because she has said something that comes to me in a flash of light when I am doing something else.  And then I must go back and read the post again.

She is funny.  Makes me snort.  She has an honesty about her that resonates with me – she is always there, and I can always go and read about her life, with her boys.  She is ALWAYS THERE dammit, well until she isn’t.

Margot is hanging up her keyboard, and the eternal never has an end Jou me se blog has in fact comes to an end.  A grinding halt one might say.

I feel sad. Bereft in fact.

I do realise I am overreacting, and she is not actually dead.  But I am still going to wear a black arm band for the balance of the week.  Cover all the mirrors in my house, and curl up in a little ball on my bed and wonder how this could have happened.

And more importantly how this could have happened TO ME!

I am sure I will be able to stalk Margot as she writes for other publications.

I will still be able to smile at her wry humour, and her ability to say it right, and make it funny – and tell the truth no matter how alarming it might be.  But reading things that are “not on her blog” won’t be the same — there will not be the same thread of what happens with Sean, Felix and Richie.

Jou Ma se Blog, I will miss you.  You have been the cornerstone on which many of us have built our blogs, and our sanity.

I started blogging on the 21 August 2009, and I think like all bloggers, I needed to look at established bloggers and what they were doing to help me find my “voice” in the blogosphere.

Chick, you will so be sorely missed by Me!

I miss you already as my week is starting knowing that there is no Jou Ma se Blog post to turn to.  But as Dr Seuss so eloquently said: “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.” 

joumaseblog

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Alexandra

     /  August 8, 2013

    I feel with you. But I live in hope that one day I may meet Margot in person ever since I discovered we have mutual friends.

    Reply
  2. Aw shame man, I feel for you. Hope Margot uses her new free time to write LOTS for others so you don’t feel so bereft. If it helps, you are ‘Margot’ to many of us bloggers out here.

    Reply
  3. ‘I feel sad. Bereft in fact.

    I do realise I am overreacting, and she is not actually dead. But I am still going to wear a black arm band for the balance of the week. Cover all the mirrors in my house, and curl up in a little ball on my bed and wonder how this could have happened.’

    As we say in the bowels of the Eastern Cape, “Celeste, you’re being a drama queen. PROPERLY!’

    Ha ha you make me laugh. Not because you feel bereft, but by your written words. You’ve mentioned this blog before, so it must have had an impact on your life.

    Well you can’t hold a good thing down, so am sure that Margot will shine once again, be it in a book or other publications.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

