Excuse me whilst I go into {further} overdraft and buy a painting ….

I stumbled across this exhibition that is running at the Bellville Library Art Gallery.

My understanding is that these are part of the entry for the SPI National Portrait Awards which has been hosted by SANLAM

spi

Sanlam Private Investments, in collaboration with Rust-en-Vrede Art Gallery, Durbanville, has initiated South Africa’s first National Portrait Award.

A significant single prize of R100,000 will be awarded for the best portrait. In addition to the prize, the winning portrait along with a selection of approximately 40 entrant works will be exhibited at the Rust-en-Vrede Gallery in Durbanville, after which the exhibition will tour to venues around South Africa in collaboration with the Sanlam Art Collection and VISI magazine.

Artists are challenged to enter works which exemplify their ability in the medium of their choice, excluding lens-based media (photography, video, etc).

A panel of three judges will identify the winning portrait, and select additional works for the national touring exhibition.

All works will be judged anonymously as artists are requested not to sign the work. The panel convened by Stefan Hundt, head of the Sanlam Private Investments Art Advisory Service, and Curator of the Sanlam Art Collection.
I believe – and any incorrect information here can be exclusively blamed on me and my inability to remember information, because I did not write it down – that there is limited space and these portraits were not displayed, so the Bellville Library Art Gallery asked  for artists who had entered, whose work was not displayed in the final 40 were then asked to display at the Bellville Art Gallery.
I am not sure I have words to describe how incredible the work is that I saw.
These are taken with my camera phone, any lighting issues, any variations from the work on display is due to me and my inability to hold my phone still whilst I am drooling and trying to do mental calculations as to how long it would take me to purchase one of these.
Here are a few images – I took photographs of the little cards next to each piece so you can see who the artists are.
Incredible.  Incredible work.  {falls on the floor in admiration}
IMG_7285
IMG_7288
IMG_7290
IMG_7292
There were so much of these that I loved – stood with mouth opened loved.
But this one by  Carien Jordaan made me stop and stare and come back and stand in front of it for a long time – not sure why. I tried to google her to see more of her work, I could not find her.
Do you know how Carien Jordaan is – let me know — please.
IMG_7294
IMG_7295
IMG_7296
IMG_7298
IMG_7300
IMG_7301
IMG_7304
IMG_7305
IMG_7307
IMG_7308
IMG_7310
IMG_7312
IMG_7314
IMG_7316
After looking at these pieces do you not find that something inside you has shifted?  Just a little?
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. matthew jordaan

     /  February 1, 2014

    Hello there,

    You can find more of Carien Jordaan’s work at http://vignetteart.wordpress.com/art/

    That wordpress site still goes by her maiden name and her new website is currently under construction. You can also email her at carien@carienjordaan.co.za

    I hope all of this helps

    Regards

    Matthew

    Reply
  2. Hilary

     /  September 11, 2013

    For sure. Some looks very real – thought they were photos. Stunning.

    Reply
  3. Tanya Nel

     /  September 10, 2013

    All stunning you’re right – but Jeremy Day’s “Missies” made me grin in a way I haven’t with art in a long time! Now where did I leave that spare R55000?

    Reply
  4. Coco

     /  September 10, 2013

    Omw it is stunning. I had to look twice as somr of the paintings are so good it looks like photographs

    Reply
  5. Ros Koch

     /  September 10, 2013

    Ooo, so glad you blogged about this. I submitted some work to the competition (also didn’t make the top 40) but am likewise completely blown away by all the talent in our country. Sorry – can’t help with finding Carien Jordaan. Am v new to the SA art scene.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

