Less Dick and a whole lot more Jane

If there’s one thing I think we can all agree on after watching this, it’s that animated media for kids needs a little less Dick and a whole lot more Jane.

If you can’t watch it on You Tube try this link – http://www.upworthy.com/the-subliminal-message-in-so-many-animated-kids-movies-and-shows-isn-t-about-violence-re2-4c?c=ufb1

http://www.seejane.org/

I am not sure I agree with everything she says, but it has given me “pause for thought” – and I would probably have a closer look at the animation that my kids watch, and the Dick-Jane thing.

Please pop along and vote for The Reluctant Mom’s Blog for SA’s Best Mommy Blogger 2013

sa-best-mommy-blogger-competition-2013-nominate-me

Nominations close on the 30 November 2013.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I can’t see the video at work but will watch it later. I get the general idea though. I think that my issue with animated media is less of gender bias and more that there is a) so much violence and b) so many cartoons that have boy/girl romantic scenes with kissing etc. It is so hard to find programs that will interest 4 year olds that do not involve killing, blowing up of things/creatures and yes, even kissing and focus on romance. Why should 4 year olds always be confronted by that? I’m not saying love and kissing is bad but to have it shoved down your throat(pardon the pun) at that age is bizarre.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

