I am a feminist because …. * I don’t think we should be telling our girls to get labia augmentation ….

… the worst insult is to be compared to a woman

… because I believe the world should be safe for women and girls .. everywhere

… because half the girls in Yemen will become child brides

… because 75% of people in Brasil believe that a woman who dresses in revealing clothes deserves to be raped

 

There are so many girl-boy things that piss me off, that I just did not notice.

I accepted and rolled with the punches.

Then I had a girl child and it all changed.

I started realising that I was treating my child differently because she had a vagina and my son had a penis.

The realise was not instantaneous.

It crept in, and then I realised that I was fostering the same belief system.

I got offended.  Then I got angry.

If I see one more plastic iron and ironing board in the kids’ section at Toys R Us, I am seriously going to shit in the aisle.

I hate the fact that if a boy cries someone says to him “stop crying like a girl.”

I get angry that if a boy shows any emotion then he is told that “He is a poesie” – because having a poesie/female parts is weak and means you are somehow lower on the totem pole.

Last time I checked women – for the most part – either pushed every person on this earth out of their vagina, or had the child cut out of her abdomen.  That is pretty hard core stuff.

Feel free to stick as many breasts as you please on sign boards advertising anything from LUX soap to CASTROL oil, but gd help if you breastfeed, because that will cause a public outcry.  And Facebook will suspend your account.

The idea of women being equal to men, is not to drag men down, or to make men feel small or inadequate.  It is about making sure that girls know that their equality is not dependent on them having pens in pink and purple …. seriously what the fuck BIC — who the hell thought up this humdinger?

 

bic for her

 

I look at music videos and I throw up in my mouth.

I watch movies with women and girls and I get angry – I do not want my girls to think that they need to be that girl to get noticed.

I look at girls fashions where shorts are shorter than the pockets of the same shorts.

I get angry that women are getting breast surgery, hymen surgery (to put it back — I shit you not) and labia surgery.

Where, where have we lost our way and how will we ever find our way back?

Have a girl child …. it will change your life.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Great post. I don’t have a girl (yet), but I am constantly making a mental list of what I hope to teach her when and if she comes along.

    And those BIC pens. Don’t get me started.

    Reply
  2. Hilary

     /  September 25, 2014

    Shit does that mean my life will never change? Don’t worry, I’m taking notes for my boys. Just last night my eldest burst into tears for a sad scene in a movie he was watching. I told him that its okay to feel sad and cry for a movie. Beware the a*hole who tells him different.

    Reply
  3. Loved this post and feel your rage!!!!

    Reply
  4. Alexandra

     /  September 23, 2014

    I assume, given your Bic Pen reference, that you have seen the Ellen advert https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eCyw3prIWhc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

