Going on an airplane makes me scream like a 6 year old …..

141007_flying

I am really petrified of flying.

Not drink a tiny bottle of Rescue, and down a large bottle of Chenin Blanc and you will be fine “sort of scared” – I am ridiculous over anxious and constantly sure that the plane is going to fall out of the sky in flames.

None of this made any better when a friend told me that when it a passenger plane “falls out of the sky” it probably takes about 20 minutes for the plane to go from cruising altitude to the “side of the mountain” in flames.

I can’t quite imagine screaming for 20 minutes.  Without having to stop and call the air steward for a drink, because no doubt I will be parched.

If I was on Kulula, do you think they would still charge me R22.00 for a Millers if we were going to crash and burn?

I digress.

I am scared of flying.  I try to avoid flying.  Not really a big ask in my world, as jet-setter is hardly the term that would apply to my sort of life style.

That being said I flew to Johannesburg last week.  I got on a plane and I thought okay, I am going to do that thing when I curl up in the brace position and this is before I am even seated in my correct seat.  Then I am going to spend the rest of the flight screaming every time the stupid catering trolley hits that metal skirting thing in the main aisle.

Every time the metal trolley hits one of those metal strips I am convinced the plane is going to break into two.

Yes, I do realise this does not make sense.

This time I thought I would use a new tactic.

1.  Don’t think about the flight.  At all.  To the point where you actually do not even print out the ticket things to take to the airport.

2.  Do not watch any “air disaster” shows.

3.  Download a few albums onto your iphone.  Songs you know.  You know the words, and you know the order of the songs.

4,  Fit head phones in your ear.

5,  Find  a volume level where you cannot hear your heart beat, nor the possible sound of the rivets popping off the wing on take off and landing.

6.  Keep music firmly on – but pause when the air hostess does the emergency procedure, because that shit could save your life.

7. Keep ear phones in and music going – the entire flight, before, during and after.

I realise it is not a method that is going to set the “people who are shit scared of flying” community abuzz, but it worked for me.

I am normally scared totally shitless when ever I fly. I had loud music, and the fact that the music was familiar and I knew what was coming kept me at ease.

I have never been “calm” during a flight – unless I am so medicated that even swallowing my own saliva appears like a challenge out of my realm, but I flew to Johannesburg and back again, and the entire time I sat there with a reasonably content look on my face.

Without crying, not once.

Without holding on to the passenger next to me, whether I knew them or not.

Without paging the air hostess once to alert the pilot that there are several rivets on the wing that appear to be working themselves loose.

I flew.  I sort of enjoyed it.  I was not scared.

Me + Flying = winning!!

 

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Haha! Laughed so so so much at this! Glad you got through ok.

    Reply
  2. The Blessed Barrenness

     /  October 8, 2014

    LMAO!
    And I’m laughing with you and not at you because I am an in-recovery-from-fear-of-flying-phobia-sufferer!
    And there was a time when even dropping someone at the airport made my heart race and my bowels loosen but with time & practise I’ve gotten better at it!
    Here’s my biggest tip…. Always try and get a seat as close to the front of the plane as possible, yes, if the plane crashes, you will be one of the first to die, but you are close to the air stewards and can spend the entire flight closely studying every expression that crosses their faces so you’ll have an early warning system when the rivets do indeed pop off the wings cos they’ll know it before you do!
    That worked for me and finally I am at a place where I can now travel without any fear!

    Reply
  3. Alexandra

     /  October 8, 2014

    I want to know too. I could have met you for a glass of wine…

    P.S. enjoyed your digression

    Reply
  4. why did you go to Jozi? i’m curious. I do know that it has nothing to do with me. I still want to know.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

