The one where the cake saw it’s arse … bad parenting guide #453

While writing the earlier post I started rummaging through my head thinking about all the rash parenting decisions I made, and when I look back at them now I cringe.  No doubt one of my kids will be on a psychologist’s couch discussing the damage of my parenting choices and directly referring to this blog as evidence.

I am the first to out myself, so let me tell you this rather classic story of where I totally lose myself to the nagging of a 3-year-old.

I bought a chocolate cake and it was sitting on the counter.  We had one of those floating centre table numbers in the middle of our kitchen back then.

Connor is about three.  He sees the cake, and starts going on and on about how he wants some cake.  I explain that he can’t have cake now, but later after dinner he can have a slice.

Connor is like a terrier with a bone, and keeps going on and on about the cake.  I restate my case that he can have it later and he keeps nagging that he wants some cake now. Nothing makes me <further> insane that repeat conversations.  And this one is going on and on like Groundhog Day.

I recall standing and leaning on the counter and looking at him and thinking all sorts of profane thoughts about him, the cake, why I was in this situation, and how it was all Kennith’s fault.  This was 2005, everything was Kennith’s fault.  He did not actually even have to be home (which incidentally he was not much) for it to be his fault.

I am standing there, looking at Connor, looking at the cake and Connor is whining and I am pretty much at the end of where ever my really short tether is.

I look at him.  I look at the cake.

I pick the cake up … I take two steps, I open the kitchen window and I throw cake, container and plate out the window. Right out the window.  I close the window and walk back over to the table, rather nonchalantly.

Connor goes in to immediate shock, and his eyes are huge.  I look at him and go: “Okay the cake is now gone, is there anything you would like to ask for?”

Needless to say, the cake discussion had come to an aprubt end.

I was not proud of myself – but I was at that point where I would have given anything for the constant whining about the frkn cake to stop.

From that moment onwards I was able to use the phrase of “Please, ask for that one more time and I promise you it is going out the window!”

{On a later occassion I did eject a toy out of the car window whilst driving on the N1.  Connor and Georgia were fighting about the toy and they did not want to stop.  I said “Okay pass the toy here…” and then it got left on the N1 somewhere … not a great advert for not littering …}

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Simone

     /  August 3, 2012

    Love it! My dad was classic though…if my brother and I were fighting, it drove him insane! So he would calmly get up, go to the knife drawer, get 2 knives…hand us each one and tell us he wanted to speed up this fighting so it could end. Needless to say my brother and I would hug and smile immediately afterwards. I guess if its not worth killing each other over, its not worth fighting about? ha ha

    Reply
    • Simone

       /  August 3, 2012

      Not to say we didn’t have many fights after that…the knives came out every time.. Occassionally we got a good hiding…also effective.

      Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  August 3, 2012

      I do love this idea, but … with my brood, I am concerned that if I head towards I knife drawer in the middle of one of thier fights, there is a good chance I will stab one of them before offering the knife to one of them ……

      Reply
    • That would never have worked with a friend of mine. When she was young her sister actually threw a knife at her and it hit her in the knee! She still has the scar!

      Reply
  2. Had to comment again! After reading the comments and seeing as people are doing the same to remote controls, cell phones, dishes, Bratz dolls I think a cake is minor!!

    Reply
  3. LOL. Honestly, I don’t think that’s a bad parenting move. It’s not like you lashed out at him… He’ll probably be telling that cake story for the rest of his life. 🙂 And I imagine that if he DOES ever share that in therapy, his therapist will crack up. 😉

    Reply
  4. Not cringe-worthy. Applause worthy – YES!!!!! Love it.

    Reply
  5. Also, I do the same thing. I’ve thrown balloons and things out the window, and if the boys are arguing about something at home, I put it on the kitchen counter. Bikes, etc. Whatever. Once we were at a restaurant and the kids went something crazy, would not listen, Noah was running to all the tables stealing sugar sachets and eating them out the packet. I got up, asked for take away boxes (luckily just pizzas) and abandoned their milkshakes etc and walked out with them. Now, they listen when I say “If you don’t behave, we’re out of here”.

    Reply
  6. One weekend, none of us wanted to wash the dishes. My dad kept walking past the sink, muttering under his breath about it. Later that day, he walked past the sink and threw all the dirty dishes in the dustbin. Hard. Everything broke. He walked away all cool about it. “Problem solved” he said. If we don’t have dishes, they won’t get dirty. I love telling that story! He’s such a cool guy that dad of mine.

    Reply
  7. Carrie

     /  August 1, 2012

    LOL! This brings back memories – my mom used to do that ALL THE TIME! Food ended up in bins a lot. Toys, clothes, books, anything that we didnt pick up from our bedroom or bathroom floor landed up on the front lawn. I think its very effective! But personally I could never do that to a chocolate cake – toys and clothes – yes, but not a cake 😉

    Reply
  8. Ha ha had me in hysterics! My just turned 3 year old is very much like that. This last weekend was his birthday and the cake arrived early and he started wanting some immediately and did not let up! Being a birthday cake I could hardly throw it out the window but I’ll remember that for next time (and something more throwable)!

    Does this sound familiar? ‘I want some caaaaake, I want some caaaaake, I want some caaaaake, I want some caaaaake, I want some caaaaake, I want some caaaaake Mommy, I want some caaaaake, I want some caaaaake’ etc etc

    Reply
  9. Oooh – children are resiliant little fiends. Trust me, it only made Connor a better little boy. Someday, your future daughter-in-law (or son-in-law – now that would be something to get a bit anxious about) will thank you for it. However, I do feel sorry for the absolute waste of what I assume was a half decent cake, since it was spinning round on your ‘Lazy Susan.’ (That relic from the 70’s, that largely increased one’s chances of being hit by a flying condiment.) With that said, I have a friend, who, during a particularly volatile stand-off with her 7 year old daughter, grabbed the cause of the argument – a Bratz doll, threw it on the ground and literally stomped on it, until, I think the head and feet popped off , and the hairdo was a don’t. Luckily, there were no adults to view the show – and it proved very effective in bringing ‘SILENCE” to the room – and peace for about 1/2 hour or so.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  August 1, 2012

      I do think extreme behaviour sometimes gives a great result. I had no issue at all about that father SHOOTING a few rounds off into his daugther’s laptop about a year ago. I think it made a firm point, and I think she will think twice before posting comments about her dad again.

      Reply
  10. Hahaha! I am totally going to be chucking something out the window soon. Brilliant solution if you ask me!

    Reply
  11. countesskaz

     /  August 1, 2012

    Yes, but it worked. It’s called shock therapy and I’m afaid sometimes it’s the way only a male’s mentality understands.(even for Connor) Them being the visual species and all. Seems to work on kids too. Did something similiar once or twice with a remote control and cell phone.

    Reply
  12. The Blessed Barrenness

     /  August 1, 2012

    LOL! Actually I think that is brilliant! Must remember to try it sometime!

    Reply
  13. Tania

     /  August 1, 2012

    CLASSIC !!!! I say very WELL DONE Mom !!!!

    Reply
  14. Wendy

     /  August 1, 2012

    Oh I wish I could do that sometimes! I would probably also feel terrible afterwards, but it must have felt so good!

    Reply
  15. Classic! I often threaten to do exactly the same. Especially with toys that aren’t put away. Had me laughing out loud.

    Reply

Leave a comment