The Sisterhood of the Travelling Book ….

Lets_Pretend_dpb_FC

I have agonised over this — really I have.

I am a people pleaser at heart, though I do come across as a total douché bag and then you wonder: “really a people pleaser, really?”

But I do.

I was earnestly contemplating how I would go out and buy 5 books and send them all out.

I really think that it is unfair to subject only one person to the happiness that is Jenny Lawson.  Really.  This is the kind of happiness that makes you fart you laugh so hard.

Unfortunately Jenny (the bloggess) has totally fkd it up for the rest of us.  Seriously if you are a blogger, and thinking about writing a book, how in gds green earth do you even start when you are faced with the book that is “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” ? As much joy as the +331 pages brought me, it also saddened me to know that Jenny has made it impossible for mediocre bloggers to even think about putting ink to paper.

In the greater scheme of things, a small price to pay.

I do want us all to hold hands and sing happy songs around a camp fire, as we get drunker and drunker, and then we can all start talking trash talk about someone who is not at the fire, with us.  That sort of everyone getting together and being part of how wonderful this book is.

Starting fires in suburban parks without the right permits is frowned upon, and with a 5 litre box of wine does bring more boys to the yard than when I make milkshakes.

I really love Jemina’s idea of making it the Sisterhood of the Travelling Book – and it would be very cool if “the book” (said with the right amount of back music to make it sound quite dramatic) is passed along to someone else as well.

I am going to slip my slightly used, but much loved edition of  “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened {A Mostly True Memoir} by Jenny Lawson The Bloggess” into a white padded envelope tomorrow and send it off to Countess Kaz who blogs over at The Fat Dairies!

I think it would be great if she would read it, sign it and send it on to another Jenny Lawson Stalker – I can’t dictate to CountessKaz where to send the book, as she might get a list off her blog.

Enjoy the book CountessKaz – I hope it brings back a bit of your mojo.

It is brimming with mojo and all sorts of other good stuff.  Laugh hard, snort harder, and got to bed with a smile on your face — think of me!

1304_Jane-Austin_web

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Well I wrote a nice long comment on the first post you did about this but somewhere between send and publish all went badly wrong and it disappeared.
    I was just saying that I needed to thank you for this suggestion. I knew I was not going to be picked due to my unfortunate geographic location so got this on the Kindle before work last week. I so did not prepare myself for my reaction and was almost rolling-on-the-floor-in-my own-wee-laughing so loudly. I am pretty sure the empty seats on either side of me on a very packed tube train should have been a sign that if my station to get off does not come quickly I will be awaited by some men with a funny coat for me to wear.
    So…Thank you very much.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  April 23, 2013

      I am so glad you loved the book – I really really enjoyed every page of Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” – of course she fucked it up for anyone else who ever dreamed of writing a book about their life.

      Seriously, how does one compete? One doesn’t. One just goes home and takes a Zoloft!

      Reply
  2. countesskaz

     /  April 23, 2013

    HOW SIMPLY DIVINE!!! shot girl, I needed to be a winner! so suck on that girls, she chose me!!!! ME!!

    No, in all seriousness, (I’ll send it on with pleasure. I love doing that anyway.) I have been known to buy copies of books that I’ve enjoyed and send them on to friends.

    Thanks Celeste, looking forward to receiving it!

    Reply
  3. What a brilliant concept! Tell me what you like to read and I’ll pass one on to you!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  April 23, 2013

      I adore anything Tudor history related!! Big fan of Alison Weir. I also like Sophie Hannah’s work. I love love love books that have polygamy as a theme. Yes I know it is strange, but I often enjoy the dynamics.

      Love this sending books stuff – especially if someone has read it and loved it. And plays it forward.

      Reply
  1. Sisterhood of the Travelling Book | Nanuschka's Blog

Leave a comment