You like me … you really really like me ….

I was given a “versatile blogger” award from Tammy who blogs on Motherhood and Madness in the Midlands.

Thanks Tammy, it is always nice to be recognized for the work I do to avoid the work I get paid to do.

I like the idea of being “recognized” – I would prefer it if it came with a voucher for a full body massage, a cup of tea, and an afternoon lie down, but I will take what I can get – beggars and choosers and all that.

I do feel though that these “pass it on” blog awards have a slight feeling of a pyramid scheme to them.

The passing on and having to name a certain amount of other blogs, sometimes does not always sit well with me.

But let me not digress and spoil the happiness of the moment for receiving something square and green (which I have pimped up a bit if you are thinking that this looks a little different to others that you might have seen – I only pimped it a tiny bit).

As with all things in life, there are a few easy to follow rules when accepting the award.

Thank the blogger that sent it your way.

Share seven mildly interesting things about yourself.

And plug a few new blogs you have recently discovered – ten actually.

So, I have acknowledged Tammy for finding me.

Now here are seven mildly interesting things about me :-

One | I am a few days away from moving from being single to being married – which scares the living crapoids out of me.  I still have no idea whether I will keep my surname, or take Kennith’s … the suspense is killing me too.

Two | I like peanut butter on white toast – with Oxo/Fray Bentos on top of it.  Looks like 5 day old puke, but tastes pretty good to me.

Three | Kennith bought me a bright pink jar of Erex for Women to try, ideally to get me in some sort of mood for the honeymoon.  The problem is the pills are about the size of suppositories.  To swallow them each day I have to fight my gag reflex for about 10 minutes.  I am not sure exactly what he is preparing me for that will be happening on our honeymoon, but any the way.

Four | While typing this list I just received a reminder SMS from Weight Watchers – clearly that was a bit like a voice from above – encouraging me to come and join them again.  Yes, I do need to get back on that rather pale and skinny pony again.

Five | I have a large dark birthmark on the left hand side of my torso – looks a bit like a squashed Australia.  A small pale one on my back, and a small pale one on my knee.  Connor is my only child who also has a birthmark.  He has a very light birthmark on his shoulder, which I think is a very sweet connection between us.  (it would have also got me burnt at a stake as a witch in the 16th century, so I am pretty thrilled to be born in 1972)

Six | Sometimes my depression gets so bad, I have to play act through the day to appear “normal” – which is really exhausting, but has allowed me the skill of faking interest and normalcy.

Seven | The character in a television show that I most identify with is Dexter – he is a serial murderer with some serious dark issues.  This sort of brings up a whole lot of concerns that in all of tv-land, this is the person I feel the most similar to.

And last, but by no means least, here are some blogs that I’ve recently discovered and found deserving of this award (or just-the-pass-it-forward-and-make-you-aware-of-clever-witty-bloggers-out-in-cyber-space).

I read blogs that interest me and make me sit up and go “okay, that is interesting.” It may not always be about a subject that is relevant to me, but it is always a blogger who touches a chord within me.

I find these blogs and their writers particularly interesting, it is often their candor and their honesty that appeals to me.

In no particular order:-

http://www.999reasonstolaugh.com/

http://fightingthedarkness.blogspot.com/

http://myworldmyramblings.blogspot.com/

http://womb4improvement.blogspot.com/

http://1eggplease.blogspot.com/

http://sixmonthsblog.blogspot.com/

http://talldudeshortchick.blogspot.com/

I also did not want to force a list of ten, when I have only read seven new blogs in the last two months – it just did not feel right to just pad it so I had a list of ten.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Thanks for the award! I am pretty crap at getting round to actually doing them but they give me a lovely warm glow.

    I love that you, the one who has to make the decision, is in suspense about the name change! What surname do your kids use? That seems to have been a deciding factor for a few of my friends, they want the same surname as their children.

    Just don’t act out any of those Dexter fantasies…

    Reply
  2. Love Dexter – those PB and oxo bread sounds terrible – no really.

    Reply
  3. Kathleen

     /  July 13, 2010

    Congrats on the reward. I love reading your blog. An idea for the surname issue why not find a way to combine the two. I couldnt let go of my name completely so I added his on the end.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 13, 2010

      Hi Kathleen

      I was also wrestling with that for some time, but I think at this stage I will either keep my name, or move my surname to a third name and then adopt Kennith’s surname – that is sort of where I was thinking of moving at the moment.

      But I really have decided to leave it until Saturday and make a decision on the day ……

      Reply
  4. Thank you for the blog links you have supplied with what you are reading. I also love reading/finding new blogs.

    Reply
  5. OK, I like peanut butter and I like oxo, but together – mmm I don’t think I’m brave enough to try that.

    Erex for Woman – the man has plans.

    Reply
  6. Kiki

     /  July 13, 2010

    Thanks for the 7 interesting facts…

    I am still trying to fathom how peanut butter and oxo can tast nice together!!!

    Congrats on your award… ( I am doing the … to stop me from posting a smiling face which I know you dislike…)

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 13, 2010

      Try the Peanut Butter/Marmite mix, it is strangely good – I clicked on to it during my 2nd pregnancy, I could not stomach anything else … and it has sort of stuck. Thanks for no smiley faces … I think they may be linked to my clown phobia!

      Reply
  7. the friend that made you do it

     /  July 12, 2010

    What’s not to like about your blog?! I’ve read some others but no one makes me laugh like you do, think through the tough stuff and know that no matter how bleak today is, this too shall pass. There aren’t enough awards for the value that you add to my morning coffee.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

