The up to my down …..

I really am stoked at hearing that I was shortlisted for the Best Parenting Blog. I found out when I read a post on the www.moomie.co.za forum and saw it there, so thank  you Julz for that, else I might have gone along totally unawares.

I’m not sure of the criteria for short listing –  is it nothing more than which blogs received the most nominations ?  I also  see the humour that me and parenting are mentioned in the same sentence – oh how the tears of laughter roll down my face.

It make me feel better to believe that there are a set of judges who are very serious as they peruse the list of nominations.  They spend hours dutifully visiting the blogs, and making copious notes regarding posts, the comments and the pretty pictures.

Somewhere somehow in this,  I trust someone reads what bloggers post and that is part of the process rather than just the amount of clicks.  But maybe I am just being naïve, and it is just about who gets the most nominations/votes – that is also fine I guess.

That being said, and no matter how the process works I am glad/thrilled/like-totally-pleased that I did not get to be the unpopular kid who is never picked.   I got to be picked  – well my blog did – so that alone made me feel really good today. (does this sound remarkably similar to “You like me, you really like me,” of Sally Field fame in the 80’s Oscar ceremony?)

My friend asked me if I get something, maybe a bottle of wine, a shiny trophy or a lukewarm plate of Chicken a’la King if I win … I don’t think so.  It may just be about bragging rights.

I am in a category with some really clever and talented bloggers – just sharing that little area of cyber space with them is quite cool for me.

I am definitely going to drink more wine tonight to celebrate – I was going to drink anyway, now I have a good reason/excuse/occasion to delay signing up for an AA meetings.

Interesting point about the voting, is that people can vote once every twenty four hours based on their unique email address.  So it is not just a one click wonder, but a one click wonder every twenty four hours (if it sounds like I am shamelessly trying to solicit votes, you are correct and clearly have a very keen sense of how these things work … something about God helping those who help themselves )

Here are a list of the other blogs that were nominated in the Best Parenting Blog category:

parent24.com/dirksema

parent24.com/ebonyandivory

parent24.com/tania.roux

parent24.com/Tansy

joumaseblerrieblog.blogspot.com

joyfulmamasplace.blogspot.com

malakaistow.blogspot.com

muslimmums.co.za

reluctantmom.wordpress.com

tertia.org

Thanks for nominating me – really, genuinely thank you.  Even if you didn’t, the fact that you took the time to click through to this blog and have read it up to here, is also pretty cool.

Even though one does not consciously start a blog so people can read it, it is strange how therapeutic and alarmingly pleasing it is when you find out that people do read your stuff, and even come back more than once … and so much cheaper than paying a psychiatrist.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Yay you! i was one of your nominators too so of course I voted for you. Good luck you deserve it 🙂

    Reply
  2. Mandi Earl

     /  September 2, 2010

    My vote for today is in – will keep going each and every day until you win, my friend! Good luck!

    Reply
  3. Annelene

     /  September 2, 2010

    Hi there,

    I’m so glad you made it as a finalist, yes i was one of those ppl who nominated you. I cam across your blog, via the pampers baby chat. Its amazing how much reading your blog uplifts my spirits on the worst days. A couple of months back, i found out im pregnant with my second child, my daughter was only 10 months old at the time. I battled with the decision of keeping the baby. After reading about the trials that people go thro, just to have a child, i realised how truely blessed i am, to be able to carry a baby to begin with. You make me laugh and cry, you make me feel like a good mom because i dont feel so alone when i read the stuff you go thro.

    thank you for an amazing blog 🙂

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 2, 2010

      Awwww what a great comment! Thanks Annelene, I hope you are doing well and would love to hear about how it is going.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

